AHS 55W and 36W kits
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2004, 06:27 PM   #1
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

I'm going to use a 55W bulb over my 20high. I don't know if I should buy the 1X55W kit or the 2X36W kit with two 17.5" long reflectors. It seems like a no-brainer to get the 55W kit, but I plan on later using a 30 gallon (36x12X16) tank and a 2X36W would be perfect for that.

I wondering if I could use only 1 socket and reflector of the 2X36W kit to run a 55W bulb. The downside to this is that reflector has over 3 inches of uncovered space on each end while the 55W kit has 22", almost the whole lenght. (tank is 24" long). I don't want to however sacrafice growing a nice 20 gallon tank becuase the reflectors are too small on the 2X36 kit.

What do you think?

BTW need answers fast, I already ordered the 1x55W yesterday, mabey I can change the order but times ticking! :x

Random side note, is the 1X55W less than ideal for a 20long. 55W is kinda intense for a 10" tall tank with substrate and the reflector leaves out 8" of uncovered space.
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2004, 01:26 AM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Did you try calling Kim at AH Supply?

I can answer the question on the 2X kit. You have to run both bulbs. And if you ordered it yesterday it's already shipped. They don't sit on their hands at AH Supply.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 02:05 AM   #3
Gomer
Wannabe Guru
 
Gomer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NM
Posts: 1,153
Default

if you get a 2x kit, you can run it as 1x. Kim gives instructions on how to run just 1 bulb.
__________________
Gomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 04:13 AM   #4
Daemonfly
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Daemonfly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 355
Default

I would just keep the 1x55w for the 20g and then just wait until you setup the 30g, then get a 2x36w for that one (if you can afford it). This is probably what would happen anyway, due to MTS (Multiple tank syndrome )


I regret using only a 1x55w on my 20g long, as it's not long enough, and the plants on the end angle inward torwards the light quite a bit.
Daemonfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 11:41 AM   #5
SCMurphy
PT Biologist
 
SCMurphy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 3,213
Default

For a 36 inch long tank you really want the 96 watt PC kit, even coverage, grows great plants, only one bulb to deal with, enough light to absolutely require CO2 injection unless you want to farm algae.
__________________
Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

That IS an aquascape, it's titled "The Vacant Lot".
SCMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 12:07 PM   #6
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

I guess I'm to late to change the order. A single 96 watt fixture would be better than a 2X36 watt anyway so I'm all good.
__________________
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012