PAR vs Distance, T5, T12, PC - New Chart - Page 51
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 11:41 PM   #751
britintexas
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: midland TX
Posts: 4
Default

PAR vs Distance, T5, T12, PC - New Chart


What is all this high-falluting PAR stuff ? All I want is to be able to put enough light into my 30 gallon 18" high aquarium so I can grow plants without breaking the bank! Jeesh, my dad did it successfully in London in the 70's without CFL's T5/8 etc!!!! SURELY it shouldn't take ALL this nonsense just to grow plants in the above aquarium in a hard water area with a Fluval 88g CO2 unit attached!

I'm a computer tech and I get fed up with other "techs" confusing my clients with unecessary "geekspeak", and sorry, but that's exactly what I am reading above!
britintexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2012, 01:47 AM   #752
dbosman@msu.edu
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI, USA
Posts: 2,710
Default

"We" had computers in the 70s as well, but those have changed just a bit over time. One major change is we have computer techs, instead of graduate electrical engineers.

Your dad wasn't growing some of the fantastic range of plants that people are into forty years later.
dbosman@msu.edu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:31 AM   #753
Steve001
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Baltimore Maryland
Posts: 1,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by britintexas View Post
What is all this high-falluting PAR stuff ? All I want is to be able to put enough light into my 30 gallon 18" high aquarium so I can grow plants without breaking the bank! Jeesh, my dad did it successfully in London in the 70's without CFL's T5/8 etc!!!! SURELY it shouldn't take ALL this nonsense just to grow plants in the above aquarium in a hard water area with a Fluval 88g CO2 unit attached!

I'm a computer tech and I get fed up with other "techs" confusing my clients with unecessary "geekspeak", and sorry, but that's exactly what I am reading above!
We used to light our homes with gaslight. Times change. Technology changes. We gain knowledge.

Did you know co2 was used as early as the early 60S ?
Look see here. http://web.archive.org/web/200605042...m/co2_text.htm
Steve001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 05:37 AM   #754
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by britintexas View Post
What is all this high-falluting PAR stuff ? All I want is to be able to put enough light into my 30 gallon 18" high aquarium so I can grow plants without breaking the bank! Jeesh, my dad did it successfully in London in the 70's without CFL's T5/8 etc!!!! SURELY it shouldn't take ALL this nonsense just to grow plants in the above aquarium in a hard water area with a Fluval 88g CO2 unit attached!

I'm a computer tech and I get fed up with other "techs" confusing my clients with unecessary "geekspeak", and sorry, but that's exactly what I am reading above!
If that's the case, any old light that looks bright enough should suffice.
Jeff5614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:26 AM   #755
cradleoffilthfan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
cradleoffilthfan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eureka, California
Posts: 323
Default

what kind of lighting did your dad use?
cradleoffilthfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:20 PM   #756
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,791
Default

Your dad very likely had a low light tank, which allowed him a lot of leeway on lighting with the very limited choices avaialable then. The reason for getting high-falluting is that there are so many very, very bright lights available for aquariums now, and if you just use the brightest one you can get you end up becoming an algae farmer or an algae fighter, not a planted tank enthusiast. That is what ruined many people's planted tank experience.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 06:24 PM   #757
akl1212
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: bay area
Posts: 2
Default

hey Hoppy i'm new to this hobby. i'm planning to get a Catalina T5HO 24 in with 2x24 watts or Aquatic Life T5HO 24 in 4x24 watts light. which light would you recommend for a medium high/high tech tank? i am using the ADA 60p tank. Should i hang it or use the legs and if hanging how far should i do it? Or maybe there is a T5HO light you can recommend me.
akl1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:25 PM   #758
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 653
Default

Not Hoppy but....
I have a 40 gal breeder & had catalina make a single 36 " fixture

Best if about a foot above the water. I have it on top of the tank because I can't stand being in a football stadium right in my own living room...lol
So when the plants reach mid way on the tank, they race to the top. I do a simple trim every 2 weeks. When I say simple I mean as compared to a mid-high light tank
HTH

As Always Thank You Hoppy for All you have done for the "aquatic lighting" community
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 05:23 PM   #759
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 653
Default

HI

while doing some maintenance i realized one bank of lightswas out. I check bulbs and they are good so I figure I need A new ballast. Hmmmmmmm I said to myself , by the time I order the ballast & install it could easily be 2 weeks. I have two identical fixtures& these bulbs are expensive ( 15 - 20 each)
So I am thinking about the Finnex ray 48 inch for one tank ( one is a 75 and the other a 55 gal) and keeping one existing fixture. <br />
Anyone using the Finnex Ray for a tank that measures either 21 inches or 15 inches to the substrate. On there site there is a chart that indicates it puts out 7k . I am looking for advice ... Can U help?
Thanks for your help


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:09 PM   #760
KFryman
Planted Member
 
KFryman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 196
Default

Would the Zoo Med Aquasun be classified as crappy reflectors or fair? Also what would be the optimum height for medium-high light in a standard 15g?

What are the best bulb combos? I have a 6500k and a 5500k, but I have heard of other mixes and I feel that mine isn't the best mix, though it may be.
KFryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:07 AM   #761
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KFryman View Post
Would the Zoo Med Aquasun be classified as crappy reflectors or fair? Also what would be the optimum height for medium-high light in a standard 15g?

What are the best bulb combos? I have a 6500k and a 5500k, but I have heard of other mixes and I feel that mine isn't the best mix, though it may be.
The best combo provides a full spectrum, high intensity spectra in reddish and bluish wavelengths. I have good success with CFL 6500K bulbs on my 15g. Optimum height would depend on plant selection and setup. I use a Zoomed with a FloraSun and Ocean Sun on my 10g that is ~12in above water
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10gal_2.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	57521  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03778.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	57522  

AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:25 AM   #762
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

need an answer fast... do you think 1 t5 40 watts is more then enough to grow dwarf baby tears in a 40 gallon breeder tank with decor and rocks etc, it comes out to about 30 gallons of water only... let me know i am looking to redo my lights right now... 2 bulb or 1 for this tank

Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:26 PM   #763
colin
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Default

I can't help but to post... this was one of the msot useful things I have ever seen posted on any aquarium forumn, thanks so much for doing the work! I way over lit my last tank, and surprise surprise, algae! I almost got a 6 bulb T5HO fixture for my 75 gal tank. Overkill!
colin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:16 AM   #764
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,791
Default

This thread is obsolete! See http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=184368 for more up to date information, which will before long be obsolete too.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:12 AM   #765
Allentan97
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: corvallis, OR
Posts: 252
Default

ummm..... soo i have like 600 par? what??? thats A LOTTTTTT of light.... lol 2 t5ho coralife fixture, 10 inches away at most. 6 at the closest.... hahaha 600 par
Allentan97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012