Used eco complete
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 02:31 AM   #1
Cokers
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Cokers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 304
Question

Used eco complete


Hey there, I've been looking to change my substrate to eco complete but damn that thing is expensive! So while browsing craigslist, I noticed this guy was selling 40 pounds of eco complete at a discount + some free plants (Probably breaking down his tank). Anyways, I wanted to know if it's safe to buy used eco complete or if it's still viable as a good planted substrate.
Cokers is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2013, 04:04 AM   #2
Monster Fish
Planted Tank Guru
 
Monster Fish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (36/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 3,085
Default

Yeah, it's still safe. Rinse it out a couple of times, then let it dry out in the sun, and you should be good to go.
__________________
RAOK Club #77|The Fraternity of Dirt #112
Monster Fish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 04:35 AM   #3
Cokers
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Cokers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monster Fish View Post
Yeah, it's still safe. Rinse it out a couple of times, then let it dry out in the sun, and you should be good to go.
Doing that would kill all beneficial bacteria inside the substrate won't it?
Cokers is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 04:40 AM   #4
Monster Fish
Planted Tank Guru
 
Monster Fish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (36/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 3,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cokers View Post
Doing that would kill all beneficial bacteria inside the substrate won't it?
Yes. But it prevents the transfer of unwanted pests like snails and any harmful bacteria. If you really want to kill whatever might be still in the eco-complete, soak it in a bucket with some hydrogen peroxide.
__________________
RAOK Club #77|The Fraternity of Dirt #112
Monster Fish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2013, 11:16 PM   #5
kclone
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ames, IA
Posts: 141
Default

I agree. It would be safe. Might have algae and pests, so let it dry out to kill anything along for the ride.
kclone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2013, 11:31 PM   #6
sarahspins
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monster Fish View Post
If you really want to kill whatever might be still in the eco-complete, soak it in a bucket with some hydrogen peroxide.
+1 on this, it's what I would do.

Eco complete doesn't "deplete" or anything - the whole purpose of it is that it's porous and will help retain nutrients in the substrate.
sarahspins is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2013, 10:14 PM   #7
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Humarock - Boston MA
Posts: 1,317
Default

Dosnt it deplete in some sense, and can only retain nutrients if your fert'n or root tab'n? Figured i'd ask :-)
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 04:08 AM   #8
aesthetics808
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: hawaii
Posts: 60
Default

you can bake it to dry it out if your in a hurry to use it.
aesthetics808 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 05:37 AM   #9
crice8
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 518
Default

Eco-Complete does not have nutrients in it but rather it takes in nutrients and holds them for your plants. All it basically is,is volcanic rock.Sure it does contain "live bacteria" when you buy it new, but I wouldn't take that as a skipping of cycle.
crice8 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 07:18 AM   #10
Vermino
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vermino's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 571
Default

I thought all substrate had BB (well organisms) in it, that's why when you flood it - it creates an ammonia spike from their deaths.
Vermino is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2013, 02:11 PM   #11
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (441/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,565
Default

No, all substrate does not contain beneficial bacteria until those bacteria spread from other surfaces in the tank and begin to grow in the substrate.

Substrates like Aquasoil leach ammonia.

Eco-Complete does not and is essentially inert.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2013, 01:58 AM   #12
Cokers
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Cokers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 304
Default

Thing is, it was used by a guy with a high tech planted tank so it should've had plenty of ferts in it. Anyways, I took Monster_Fish's advice and rinsed it out but only let it dry for a day. There was tons of roots and random java moss inside the eco-complete and enough muck to turn the water black when I poured it off.
Cokers is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012