3 Gallon DHG Tank: What am I doing wrong?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2013, 09:42 PM   #1
Rexor20
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Default

3 Gallon DHG Tank: What am I doing wrong?


Hi all,

I've had my 3 gallon JBJ Picotope running for about 2 months now and am seeing really poor growth with my DHG. I feel like my setup is strong enough to see good growth but it looks like the grass thats alive is just staying alive and not growing. I also had a lot of initial die off when the tank was filled.

This was started as a DSM tank for about two weeks and then I filled it.

Here are the specs on the tank:
Aquasoil Amazonia regular size
3 WPG for 8 hours per day
35% water changes every week
DIY CO2

Ferts:
I'm using Seachem stuff since the tank is so small. I converted their suggested fert schedule to drops since I use a dropper.

Sunday:
Flourish 7, Excel 30, Iron 12, Phos 6, Nit 6, Pott 12
Tuesday:
Excel 16, Iron 14
Thursday:
Excel, 14, Iron 12, Phos 6, Nit 6, Pott 12, Flourish 7
Saturday:
35% water change

There are some strands that grow which I trim with each water change but so far no horizontal spreading, only vertical regrowth.

I was running the original HOB filter that came with it, but it died on me so I picked up a replacement from the pet store. The pet store one has a charcoal filter but I haven't noticed any difference between the two.

Any suggestions on what to tweak would be really appreciated. I'd love to get this tank growing for me and I've heard that DHG spreads really well but I don't know what I'm missing.

Thanks.



Rexor20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2013, 10:30 PM   #2
Ben.
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Ben.'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 950
Default

What type of light are you using, also your drop checker is blue, is the DIY CO2 actually producing CO2?
__________________
Nothing Ventured. Nothing Gained.
Ben. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 11:13 PM   #3
aluka
Wannabe Guru
 
aluka's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/96%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,459
Default

theres no bubbles from your co2, sooo you are probably not getting any co2. But what kind of light are you using? as in what temperature spectrum? It needs to be at least 6500k.
aluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 11:24 PM   #4
Rexor20
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Default

Sorry guys. Should've mentioned that I was refilling the yeast bottle so no CO2 and just did a water change so the drop checker is blue in the picture.

There are normally a stream of bubbles coming out and the checker is green.

I'm not really sure on the light. I know that it is a 9w 6500k that I bought to replace the 9w 50/50 light that originally came with it. Its using the stock JBJ light fixture.

Last edited by Rexor20; 06-29-2013 at 11:37 PM.. Reason: udpate
Rexor20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 04:39 AM   #5
FlyingHellFish
Wannabe Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,872
Default

Nothing wrong here, it's just making it's change. Just cut off the dead brown parts and wait for it to send out new growth. It's fine, keep doing what you're doing and it will come back.

Trim only the dead parts, or the really tall leafs. My DHG does this all the time when I replant from my farming stock.
FlyingHellFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 11:33 AM   #6
BruceF
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Centennial,Co
Posts: 1,153
Default

+1 I agree it is doing fine. I grow DHG without co2 at all. Just give it time.
BruceF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 11:45 PM   #7
Mike00726
Algae Grower
 
Mike00726's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 124
Default

You could put the CO2 line into the intake of your filter, it could help the spread, but it might not matter in such a small tank.
Mike00726 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 05:39 AM   #8
vvDO
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
vvDO's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Richmond, CA
Posts: 383
Default

Ime hairgrass can take its sweet time before you know it you'll be asking how to keep it tame. I've read that giving it a haircut may stimulate new lateral/spreading growth.
__________________
Mr. Aqua 30cm cube journal
20L high tech journal
Fluval EDGE slightly modded, low tech
3+ gallon (40 x 16 x 20.5 cm) aquatic soil, low-tech
Fluval spec V (sitting in a box)
vvDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012