Eco-Complete or FloraMax? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 09:03 PM   #16
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,272
Default

This is a 20 gallon shrimp tank i setup 4 months ago. Eco-complete substrate only. No ferts, no co2, no root tabs. 2x 13w CFL daylight bulbs. So far so good, except a little hair algae in the last week or 2 which some amano's i put in last Saturday have been cleaning up well.

I trim weekly, and never issues with keeping plants planted. I even have baby dwarf sag's, no issue even keeping those little things in.



__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2013, 02:49 AM   #17
mwei
Planted Member
 
mwei's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrypticLifeStyle View Post
This is a 20 gallon shrimp tank i setup 4 months ago. Eco-complete substrate only. No ferts, no co2, no root tabs. 2x 13w CFL daylight bulbs. So far so good, except a little hair algae in the last week or 2 which some amano's i put in last Saturday have been cleaning up well.

I trim weekly, and never issues with keeping plants planted. I even have baby dwarf sag's, no issue even keeping those little things in.



wow...looks nice! :O
mwei is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 02:50 AM   #18
mwei
Planted Member
 
mwei's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 186
Default

OK. so...because petco didn't have any eco-complete or floramax I went with whatever they had, ActivFlora. No idea how it will work or if it will get the job done or not...so wish me luck...haha...><
mwei is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:23 AM   #19
AlanLe
Gurus Master
 
AlanLe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwei View Post
OK. so...because petco didn't have any eco-complete or floramax I went with whatever they had, ActivFlora. No idea how it will work or if it will get the job done or not...so wish me luck...haha...><
You get what you pay
AlanLe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 04:23 PM   #20
AquaLady86
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to AquaLady86
Default

I have floramax in my tank that's cycling. What I want to know is, would it be sharp to my cories. If so should I just cap it with sand?
AquaLady86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:43 PM   #21
Blackheart
Wannabe Guru
 
Blackheart's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 1,184
Default

I have used both eco complete and floramax together before. But I'd still have to say eco is better. In terms of growth I think they're both just fine. But floramax is so dirty and requires so much rinsing, unlike eco complete.

I just hate using them though because they are a pain to keep plants down in, they always come lose. That and I don't like the way it looks.
Blackheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:27 PM   #22
BHolmes
Planted Member
 
BHolmes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Hill, WA
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
I have floramax in my tank that's cycling. What I want to know is, would it be sharp to my cories. If so should I just cap it with sand?
You don't need to cap with sand. It's just fine for cory's.

Quote:
I have used both eco complete and floramax together before. But I'd still have to say eco is better. In terms of growth I think they're both just fine. But floramax is so dirty and requires so much rinsing, unlike eco complete.

I just hate using them though because they are a pain to keep plants down in, they always come lose. That and I don't like the way it looks.
If you're dumping substrate into a tank that has water in it it's going to cloud. You'll never see Takashi Amano dump an entire bag of AS into a tank full of water. Don't rinse any substrate for a planted aquarium. Drain all of the water out of the tank and lay the substrate, hardscape, and plant the plants. Then slowly fill the tank back up using plastic grocery bags to spread the flow of the water from the hose. Your tank will be crystal clear. I just did it this week with MGOPM capped with Flora-Max in my 90g.

Here is immediately after filling the tank before turning the filter back on



Here is 48 hours later. No foaming, clouding, or chemicals used



I haven't even cleaned the surface yet because that's clear too



The biggest mess is all on the outside of my tank



My vote goes to

__________________
BHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:57 AM   #23
AquaLady86
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to AquaLady86
Default

Nice setup. What dirt can I use besides the miracle grow because I cant seem to find it. And how do I dirt it? Minerilize it first?
AquaLady86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 02:35 PM   #24
Cinbos
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Cinbos's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaLady86 View Post
Nice setup. What dirt can I use besides the miracle grow because I cant seem to find it. And how do I dirt it? Minerilize it first?
Same question here too. I have seen many people jut add it in, but i have also seen many people swear by mineralizing it first. Personally I have no time to mineralize soil.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
55 Gallon Planted

Fish
3 GBR, 2 Bolivian Rams, 1 Juvenile Super Red BN Plecos, 9 Oto Catfish, 9 Bloodfin Tetras
Plants
Rotala Indica, Cardamine, Crypt Spiralis, Pygmy Chain Swords, Dwarf Sag, Lutea Crypt, Wendtti Bronze and Red, and Floating Frogbit
Cinbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 07:34 PM   #25
BHolmes
Planted Member
 
BHolmes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Hill, WA
Posts: 223
Default

I didn't mineralize mine. I created a border along the edge of the glass with Flora-Max about 2.5in high. I also made a bed of Flora-Max under the driftwood. Then I poured a two inch layer of soil in the open space. I capped it with the remaining Flora-Max and made a two inch high slope in the back to one inch in the front.
__________________
BHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 07:37 PM   #26
BHolmes
Planted Member
 
BHolmes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Hill, WA
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaLady86 View Post
Nice setup. What dirt can I use besides the miracle grow because I cant seem to find it. And how do I dirt it? Minerilize it first?
I found mine at walmart for $5 a bag. You could use any organic topsoil though
__________________
BHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 09:22 PM   #27
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,298
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

I know you made your choice but I have used Flourite and Floramax with good results, never Eco Complete. The only downside of Flourite is if you use the sand, it can scratch the glass. Well both Flourite and Floramax can but it's easier to do with the sand. Don't use any magnetic cleaner and make sure that if you get in particles in whatever you use to clean, throw it away. It's not that bad but on my oldest tanks, I have a few bad scratches.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012