Tank lid ventilation requirements?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2004, 03:38 PM   #1
Derek
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 45
Default

If I build a lid for a tank how much, if any, ventilation to the water surface do I need? The lid will have a cut-out for an AquaClear Mini but other than that I could make it fit the tank lip perfectly. If I do this should I include little ports (say, 4) to increase air flow in and out of the airspace above the water?

Derek
Derek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2004, 03:58 PM   #2
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

The cut out for the AC Mini should provide all the ventilation you need to help oxygenate the water at night, especially with the waterfall being exposed to fresh air as it passes. The only reason I would cut additional ports would be to reduce temps between the cover and water surface and induce evaporative cooling. This would require more frequent water top-off but might be necessary if you have significant heat from lighting.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2004, 04:17 PM   #3
Derek
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 45
Default

Alright, so if I build the lid with only a minimal cut-out for the AC Mini then I can install it without worrying about air flow for the fish. If the tank heats up too much I can temporarily ventilate the air space by propping up the lid - if this helps then I can retrofit the lid with some porting. I like this approach.
Derek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 130watt enough light for a 72g tank? Poohbee Lighting 5 06-09-2004 03:11 AM
How to move fish from one tank to another? Aqua Dave Fish 9 03-15-2004 07:22 PM
Lighting for the odd size tank anonapersona Lighting 23 10-09-2003 10:45 PM
Tank support anonapersona Equipment 10 10-04-2003 11:59 PM
New Tank / Question Can you help/pics enclosed Angel12 General Planted Tank Discussion 8 04-28-2003 12:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012