Substrate Support (~12")
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2013, 04:32 AM   #1
samwoo2go
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 256
Default

Substrate Support (~12")


I want to build up a REALLY dramatic cliff/valley. So I need to bank up my substrate to about 12" off the bottom. Obviously it's a bad idea to have that deep of a substrate on its own.

What do you guys recommend to use to "pre-build" a deep base before layering with substrate?

I've read somewhere of cutting egg crates to various sizes than stacking them. But then what? Do I put a fine mesh over it? Wouldn't the water trapped under the mesh get really stale? would that even matter?

Thanks guys!
__________________
samwoo2go is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2013, 11:25 AM   #2
ElBoltonero
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Phillyish, PA
Posts: 219
Default

Egg crate, not egg crates. The stuff you put in a fluorescent light fixture.

ElBoltonero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 01:57 AM   #3
samwoo2go
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElBoltonero View Post
Egg crate, not egg crates. The stuff you put in a fluorescent light fixture.

Yes this is what I was talking about, how do I use them to build height?
__________________
samwoo2go is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 02:53 AM   #4
blink
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 564
Default

Wrap them with weed barrier/landscape fabric. Just make sure it doesn't have any pesticides in it.
I'm sure there are other methods, but that's what I've used in terrariums and it worked well.
blink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 02:57 AM   #5
cah925
Fear the Swamp!
 
cah925's Avatar
 
PTrader: (173/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 2,504
Default

Fill pantyhose with Hydroton. Real light and very porous for bacteria colonies.
cah925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 03:16 AM   #6
Dan's85
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Dan's85's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Montrose, Co
Posts: 350
Default


Not sure if this is the look that you are going for, but you could use the same concept but with different rocks. Hope this helps.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt #136
Just because its dirt doesn't make it low tech


40b tank journal
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...594&highlight=
10g NPT Betta tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=358321
Dan's85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:51 PM   #7
lochaber
Wannabe Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,921
Default

If it's a fairly small ledge, you could just use layers of egg crate and shape them so it resembles a topographic map. However, this would get real expensive real quick for any decent sized slopes.

You can also build boxes out of them, and either glue them together or hold them together with zip ties. Some people use pieces of pvc pipe as columns, and a piece of eggcrate as a shelf.

I'd probably just go with lava rock, or stuffing a bunch of gravel in nylons or something.
lochaber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:31 PM   #8
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

I would completely drop the idea of banking substrate and go with rocks. Rocks can be covered with plants just as well as substrate can and definitely make a great cliff.

I would be careful with rocks too! Mr. Amano had to change his plans during the making of this particular scape. http://youtu.be/_-Ex5RjPG3k

If I wanted to make a cliff in a smaller tank I would go with something like this. Flat rocks would be easier than the cobbles I use and I probably could make a less deep structure to save planting room behind the cliff.
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=294738

Then I might fill the back with tubes of lava rock or even loose rock and fill in with the main substrate around that if my plan included deep substrate at the rear that is.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:38 PM   #9
FuelingFire
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 51
Default

If you look at my tank you'll see my 3d background. you could do something like that to give you your cliff face, with out having to have a deep substrate.
FuelingFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012