arrghhhh
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2013, 06:31 PM   #1
reef
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: St Helens UK
Posts: 3
Default

arrghhhh


Ok so planning my planted tank and looking at co2 options... i have a sump i would like to keep as a refugium so my question is (my head is battered by all i have read and surfed and my eyeballs are starting to bleed )..can i use a small canister filter with a reactor ? its roughly 100gal and i am thinking that a small canister filter just for the co2 would suffice ..am i correct ...secondly do i need all the fancy kit or just co2 with a regulator ... sorry for being dim
reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2013, 11:34 PM   #2
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,327
Default

I am a little confused by what you are asking.

You are proposing that you have a small canister filter, with a reactor hooked up to it, for the sole purpose of dissolving CO2 (and not for filtration)? While this would work, I don't see why you wouldn't want to put the reactor on a larger filter (since you will probably need two filters anyway, for a large aquarium such as the one you have).

Regarding CO2, you will need at the very least, a CO2 cylinder, a needle valve and a regulator. Of course, you can get "fancier" (though still recommended) items such as a bubble counter, drop checker, and solenoid.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:40 AM   #3
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,991
Default

Whoa that title scared me, I thought somehow it was September 19th already!
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:55 AM   #4
reef
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: St Helens UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: arrghhhh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkblade48 View Post
I am a little confused by what you are asking.

You are proposing that you have a small canister filter, with a reactor hooked up to it, for the sole purpose of dissolving CO2 (and not for filtration)? While this would work, I don't see why you wouldn't want to put the reactor on a larger filter (since you will probably need two filters anyway, for a large aquarium such as the one you have).

Regarding CO2, you will need at the very least, a CO2 cylinder, a needle valve and a regulator. Of course, you can get "fancier" (though still recommended) items such as a bubble counter, drop checker, and solenoid.
I am running a 30 gallon sump with mixed media not a big fan of canister filters so if i can get away with out using a huge one all the better .

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk 2
reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 10:07 AM   #5
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,692
Default

I dont see a problem running the return line of a canister into a reactor though i thought you were asking if you could use the canister as a reactor which would not be ideal.

a popular choice is to use an inline co2 diffusor on the return line of a canister filter. not sure if i answered your question though.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:51 AM   #6
D-Linquent
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 89
Default

I want to put a sump on my tank, and it looks like some people just run their co2 into the return pump. It'll chop up the bubbles for you and send it into your tank. That way you wouldn't need a canister or a reactor. However, I don't have any experience with a tank that size. You might need two points of diffusion and/or powerheads to make sure the co2 is distributed throughout your tank properly.
D-Linquent is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012