Aquasoil - Dosing
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2013, 02:56 PM   #1
ryu1
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (50/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 713
Default

Aquasoil - Dosing


This is my first time using aquasoil, been using all inert substrate all the time and dosing EI. When would I start dosing after cycling and at what level. Will be using high light and co2? Thanks.
ryu1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2013, 03:05 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (402/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,687
Default

If you're adding plants on day one, start dosing on day 1. (During the "cycle")
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2013, 04:09 PM   #3
ryu1
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (50/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 713
Default

Thanks. It would be mostly foreground plant like dhg, ug, downoi, moss, and some erios etc. Won't have too many stems, maybe a few in this tank, about 9 gallons.
Is the water change schedule (from shrimpnow) pretty standard, I am not keeping shrimp (at least now), so do I have to do water change that often?
ryu1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2013, 07:08 PM   #4
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (402/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,687
Default

You can't have any livestock in your tank during the cycle process, as ammonia would be far too strong.

So you'll likely need to remove excess ammonia by doing water changes.

Not everyone follows the daily water change method in the beginning. I don't and have never had problems. I just don't let ammonia get stronger than 4-5PPM in the tank. When it does, I swap all the water out. Occasionally through a cycle, I'll swap all the water out just to do it, though.

Search the forum a bit to see how others do it and pick what you think will work best for your situation.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012