Miracle grow plant food spikes
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2013, 06:47 PM   #1
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 926
Default

Miracle grow plant food spikes


i wanted to see if i could use these in a tank i couldent find any info on using them so i tested them out on my 80 gallon system i put 1/4 of a stick under a amazon sword, 1/4 a stick under a random unknown plant and 1/4 a stick into a hob filter to dissolve into the water

the ones under the sword have been there 18 days no issue

the random plant had some melt but bounced back 18 days since putting the stick under the roots

5 days since the 1/4 spike added to the hob no issues as of yet

will do updates
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2013, 09:25 PM   #2
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 4,007
Default

Have you been checking your ammonia levels? Many terrestrial plant fertilizers have ammonia in them.
Noahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 07:21 AM   #3
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 926
Default

it has stayed low , but the sticks do contain ammonia compounds , apparently no more then my plants can handle
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 02:57 PM   #4
ldaniel
Algae Grower
 
ldaniel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 93
Default Miracle grow plant food spikes

I would watch the P levels. If you get an algae bloom that could be the main reason. I would think that if it is heavily planted the sticks in the gravel would be fine but I would not be adding to the water column, in my opinion. Your bio filtration may be taking care ammonia and nitrites, what levels are your nitrates at?
__________________
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." JFK 1962
ldaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 05:15 PM   #5
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 926
Default

the nitrates are 0 , not sure on the p because i dont have a test kit for it
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012