black diamond and......
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2013, 05:15 PM   #1
tattooedfool83
Wannabe Guru
 
tattooedfool83's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Providence, RI
Posts: 1,812
Default

black diamond and......


Setting up a new planted tank, was gonna use black diamond and wondering if I should use a different.substrate under the black diamond? Or can I use black diamond and root tabs? Any idea?
One alternative for me was that I was gonna use the 15lbs of caribsea floramax in my 10 gallon underneath the balck diamond.
tattooedfool83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2013, 09:45 PM   #2
tattooedfool83
Wannabe Guru
 
tattooedfool83's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Providence, RI
Posts: 1,812
Default

Anybody, Im looking to set this tank up soon.
tattooedfool83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 09:46 PM   #3
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 3,995
Default RE: black diamond and......

I'm using root tabs only under my black diamond, things are growing great

Sent from my RM-820_nam_att_100 using Board Express
Noahma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:16 PM   #4
thelub
Newbie
 
thelub's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Washington
Posts: 1,962
Default

You could cap some dirt/peat/ADA etc off with the black diamond. Root tabs in plain sand will work too.
thelub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:02 PM   #5
tattooedfool83
Wannabe Guru
 
tattooedfool83's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Providence, RI
Posts: 1,812
Default

Ok awesome. I was thinking about dirt but i wanna use water and media from an already established tank to get this one going. And with dirt i have to worry about leeching correct?
tattooedfool83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:26 PM   #6
alipper
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tattooedfool83 View Post
Ok awesome. I was thinking about dirt but i wanna use water and media from an already established tank to get this one going. And with dirt i have to worry about leeching correct?
Put some purigen in your HOB filter or canister, clears your water right up.
__________________
temporary tanks for the time being...
alipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 12:33 AM   #7
tattooedfool83
Wannabe Guru
 
tattooedfool83's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Providence, RI
Posts: 1,812
Default

Nothing harmful to worry about from dirt? High amonia levels?
tattooedfool83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 12:42 AM   #8
aquarium hippy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
aquarium hippy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 422
Default black diamond and......

I use bd and root tabs works great for me


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Jason
aquarium hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 01:06 AM   #9
HypnoticAquatic
Wannabe Guru
 
HypnoticAquatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: arvada, co
Posts: 1,289
Default

imo theres no need to put another type under it unless your doing dirt so u dont have to fert as much, other than that just stick with the same type, if your wanting it for size variance they do make larger sized grain. i like it a little larger than 20/40 but its personal preference.

with root tabs vs dirt for ammonia you still should have it cycled befor adding anything as both can release toxic levels if not set up or cycled correctly, so dont rush or o.d. with tabs.
HypnoticAquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 01:06 AM   #10
tattooedfool83
Wannabe Guru
 
tattooedfool83's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Providence, RI
Posts: 1,812
Default

curious though. How many tabs are you using, how much do you space them out?
tattooedfool83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012