Dry fertilizer ei dosing
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2013, 04:48 PM   #1
dkreef
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 285
Default

Im getting discus in few weeks and i need to get this npk dosing done correctly so discus dont suffer.

I dont know how i came to this calculation but based tom barrs ei dosing, i calculated 4 tsp of kno3 and 1.5 tsp of kh2po4, 1.5 tsp of plantex cbm for my 320 Gal water volume.

Last night, my water tested nitrate of 5ppm and i have no fish now. Im Doing fishless cycle and havent done any waterchange. So i added those measurements and this morning my nitrate is 80ppm!

I wanna keep my nitrate 5-10ppm for my discus. My tank is 265gal plus 120gal sump. Hightech heavily planted.
How should i dose ferts?
Is nitrate the only thing i should be concerned for my discus?

Is this calculator correct?
http://calc.petalphile.com/mobile

Last edited by Darkblade48; 05-06-2013 at 02:41 AM.. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts
dkreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2013, 06:21 PM   #2
Daleo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default

The natural conclusion (for me at least ) is that the fishless cycle happened to peak nitrates the day after you added ferts. 80ppm nitrate is obviously a lot, and I don't believe that a few tsp in 300+ gallons would lead to 80ppm nitrate.

I would make sure the test kit is accurate, then if so, not add anymore KNO3 until the plants use it and maybe do a 50% water change too.
Daleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:39 PM   #3
dkreef
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 285
Default

Test kit is accurate. Still dont see how nitrite of 0.5-1ppm would lead to 80ppm nitrate in 12 hrs span.

Plus i never seen nitrites beyond 1ppm.

I just retested and my nitrite is 0. Nitrate is 80.
Gonna add 3ppm ammonia and see what happens tomorrow.

Last edited by Darkblade48; 05-06-2013 at 02:41 AM.. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts
dkreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 03:43 AM   #4
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (256/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,347
Default

You claim the test kit is accurate, so............this implies you have calibrated the test kit and which brand is it?

How did you do the calibration?
What standards did you use then?

This does not add up.

Also, why are you doing fishless cycling with plants?
I've never once seen a fully planted tank in 20 years go through a cycle.
Even my non CO2 tanks never did.

Plants remove NH4 directly.

One of the reasons why fish do well in the planted tank to begin with.

Then you do large frequent water changes, eg, 2-3x a week for the 1st 1-2 months= no build up on any waste.

So where and how can you have a cycle with this routine?
You cannot.

Search the "silent cycle". Topic has come up over and over going back 20 years almost on the web now.

Then read this sticky:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=83545

Do this, then see.

__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 05:49 AM   #5
dkreef
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 285
Default

tom, i was told to still cycle if i plan on getting discus or any other fish.

ive been adding 4-5ppm ammonia and ammonia stayed at that level for a week and nitrite around 0.5ppm for another week. then today was first day, i saw 0 nitrite and then 80ppm nitrate. (before nitrate was always 5-10ppm).

wouldnt u call this a cycle?
why not get your bacteria loaded in media to prevent minicycle when u add fish(especilly big ones)? that was my goal...just didnt think plant can handle large load of ammonia.
dkreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012