33G long filter recommendations and Apex questions
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2013, 06:14 AM   #1
jefferzbooboo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 41
Default

33G long filter recommendations and Apex questions


I'm in the process of upgrading from a 10g high tech to a 33G long high tech. I'm going to be using Flora Max black substrate, 2 120w Bridgelux Chinese LED's, Aqua Medic Reefdoser for micros/macros, Apex Jr, Green Leef Aquariums Atomic paintball regulator and Atomic diffuser.

I'm looking for filter recommendations, I'd prefer canister if possible. Anybody got any?

As for the Apex, would it be worth it add a ph probe and have it set up so if the pH rises to high it would shut the Co2 off?
jefferzbooboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-04-2013, 07:10 PM   #2
oldpunk78
/)ಠ_ಠ(\
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (106/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Anderson, CA
Posts: 5,438
Default

Filter, probably like a xp2 or a 2215.

If you add the ph probe to the apex, it could not only shut the CO2 off but you could use it as a controller instead.
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:38 PM   #3
vnghost
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 218
Default 33G long filter recommendations and Apex questions

If those 120w LED fixtures are for salt water might be way too strong for freshwater. Are they dimmable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
vnghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:32 PM   #4
jefferzbooboo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 41
Default

Thanks for the replies. I think I'm going to go with the 2215.
What do you mean by using the Apex as a Co2 controller?

The lights are dimmable and I can adjust the height of the fixtures. I didn't plan on using the blues.
jefferzbooboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:45 PM   #5
oldpunk78
/)ಠ_ಠ(\
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (106/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Anderson, CA
Posts: 5,438
Default

You can program it to drop the ph (with the co2) down to a particular level and keep it there.

Just like what this thing does:

http://www.aquariumplants.com/Milwau..._p/milcont.htm
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 04:47 AM   #6
jefferzbooboo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 41
Default

So i'm looking through my Apex and when I change outlet that has my Co2 on it to pH control, there's a high and low value. I would like to keep my pH around 7.0. What would I put in there for a high and low value? There's also a box for on when high or low, which one should I select.
jefferzbooboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 05:13 AM   #7
oldpunk78
/)ಠ_ಠ(\
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (106/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Anderson, CA
Posts: 5,438
Default

I think you want to keep the low level to whatever 30pmm of co2 equates to. Not sure though. I've never used a ph controller.
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012