Aquatek Mini CO2 Regulator - Solenoid Issue
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 10:01 PM   #1
dim
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6
Default

Aquatek Mini CO2 Regulator - Solenoid Issue



My Aquatek mini CO2 regulator worked perfectly until my very first tank got empty. I replaced the tank but after that solenoid refuse to open valve. No clicks or gas output. I disassembled the unit and found that solenoid itself works perfectly. After I assemble the same thing, no even clicking sounds. I would say the springs inside are too tough to allow gas to pass, but that was the same when it was working.
What do you guys can advise? It doesn't look like solenoid is broken, so replace it would be useless.
dim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2013, 12:28 AM   #2
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,205
Default

When you have the solenoid by itself, and you power it on/off, you can hear the plunger clicking.

However, when you assemble it into your regulator setup, you no longer hear the plunger clicking?

Are you sure it is not a loose wire within the solenoid itself? It is possible a wire has not been soldered properly (maybe).
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:31 AM   #3
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (87/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,487
Default

check the wire connection in the DIN connector, see if the wire loose.
Bettatail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:33 AM   #4
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (87/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,487
Default

Mod is fast!
Bettatail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:43 AM   #5
dim
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6
Default

100% sure it is not a wire. Loose wire should have worked at least a few times when I turned it on/off in different positions.
More looks like something does not allow plunger to move when it is under pressure. And solenoid itself does not look like I can disassemble it to look inside.
dim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:48 PM   #6
dim
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6
Default Solved

Just for the information. I was able to solve the problem by cleaning the solenoid and blow debris out by air compressor. Frankly, I did not see any debris, but it helped, solenoid now works.
Thanks to everyone who tried to help!
dim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012