Can I split my inlet in 2 on a canister?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default

Can I split my inlet in 2 on a canister?


I have a jbj 45 on my 55 gallon aquarium. The spraybar nearly covers the whole back. I'm wondering if I can split the inlet into 2 so I can put one on either side. If nobody has tryed it then I will figure it out. I'm thinking I will need to reduce to 3/8. I also plan to use sponge pre filters.
__________________
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2013, 09:08 PM   #2
bankruptjojo
Planted Member
 
bankruptjojo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: KCMO
Posts: 244
Default

i think it will work but the flow into the inlets will be a lot less. this makes it very hard for the filter to suck up the floating debris. especially if you put some pre filter on them. and keep in mind this filter is not overly strong in the first place, i have 2 of them.

honestly i dont think it will work very well but if you do try it id love to know how it works out. good luck!
__________________
8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
bankruptjojo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:32 PM   #3
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

You mean split the outlet right? The flow to each SB will likely be half that it is now but if you are fine with that then go for it. You may have to supplement with a few powerheads to keep particles suspended so the filter can get them.
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:40 PM   #4
chou
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 251
Default

get another filter and save the hassle.
chou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:33 PM   #5
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,066
Default Re: Can I split my inlet in 2 on a canister?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chou View Post
get another filter and save the hassle.
+1

But if you want to try, 5/8" to 1/2" Y barbs are available from Marine Depot for like $5.

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:34 PM   #6
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

you have to think of it this way....

if the 2 tubes to the inlet is the same size, it will suck the same pressure, IF one tube is longer then the other... the shorter one will get most of the suction over the linger tube...


the shorter the tube the stronger the suction is... 2 tubes with short tubes and same lenght = good suction on bother tank with 1 filter...
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 12:00 AM   #7
bankruptjojo
Planted Member
 
bankruptjojo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: KCMO
Posts: 244
Default

i thought he was talking about the inlets but maybe not... i always run 2 filters on bigger tanks anyways.
__________________
8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
bankruptjojo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:08 AM   #8
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default Re: Can I split my inlet in 2 on a canister?

I'm sorry for the confusion. I guess I was thinking of it wrong. I want to spilt coming out of the tank. My fault. I had two filters on this tank. The ehiem had a hole in the head unit and was sucking air right above where the impeller housing is. So I'm sending the filter back. I tossed a 1250 gph circulation pump on that comes on 15 min. Per hour at nite. It seems to work so far. I just felt two inlets would be better. I will swing by the hardware store and het the parts to give it a shot this weekend and post the results as I get them.
__________________
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012