amzonia vs malaya vs azoo vs gravel+dosing
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 05:49 AM   #1
thefishguy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: california
Posts: 15
Default

amzonia vs malaya vs azoo vs gravel+dosing


tried a walstad method and it isnt working out for me as i planned. so considering moving to ;amzonia vs malaya vs azoo vs gravel+dosing.

i want the most natural look and was wondering if anyone had any inputs?
thefishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2013, 12:12 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (432/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,466
Default

The most natural look for what? What are your goals?

What kind of plants do you have? Size of tank? Livestock? Lighting? Do you dose ferts and provide CO2?
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 01:44 AM   #3
thefishguy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: california
Posts: 15
Default

haha sorry i should have said more.

its a 65g with an undergravel cable heater, press. co2, 2 x 96 w compacts at 65 and 10k, and i dose iron, potassium and comprehensive twice a week. i want to grow vals, swords, foreground cover like microswoards and gloss or etc, banna plants and crypts. they are all growing very well right now expect my soil gives off a lot of phosphates so i am getting mad amounts of algae. that and the soil gets on all my leaves everytime i move something in there :/

would i be able to do gravel and sand with regular dosing?
thefishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 12:13 PM   #4
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (432/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,466
Default

You can use just about any substrate you want if you're dosing enough nutrients for the tank.

But there are other questions you'll need to answer: Livestock? Lighting? Do you provide CO2?

If you have algae, that leads me to believe there's something going on beyond your substrate chucking out phosphates.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012