building a breeder rack on a ten gallon...
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 02:49 AM   #1
auban
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 576
Default

building a breeder rack on a ten gallon...


i started selecting some shrimp to breed, and decided that i didnt want to take up more space. so, i set this up:


i just put breeder boxes on the ten gallon i already had. since i only want to pick out a few, i figured i can leave all the rest in the tank, pull out my breeders, and treat the rest as culls. later on, ill move the offspring into their own five gallon, and will probably do the same with it. cheap, easy, and i can go along selectively breeding only the best shrimp, treating the general population as culls. should work, they are in the same water as the rest of them, and it gets changed constantly.

plus, since i am finding random mutations showing up in single shrimp, i dont miss a chance on the possibility of developing a new morph.
auban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2013, 03:35 AM   #2
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,814
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

what kind of breeder box is that i like the square shape of those
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:42 AM   #3
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,500
Default

I have never had luck with breeder boxes and shrimp... They always find a way out...
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:50 AM   #4
mcclure91
Algae Grower
 
mcclure91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Carrollton Illinois
Posts: 113
Default

so are they just in still water? with no filter?
mcclure91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:55 AM   #5
assasin6547
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
assasin6547's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 726
Default

Is that algae or moss?
__________________
How I feel about non-planted aquariums.
assasin6547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:21 AM   #6
Bananariot
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bananariot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Biddeford, Maine
Posts: 2,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wicca27 View Post
what kind of breeder box is that i like the square shape of those
\

I think those are marina small boxes

Quote:
Originally Posted by steven p View Post
I have never had luck with breeder boxes and shrimp... They always find a way out...
gotta use SS mesh as the outlet guard, once i did it...no one escaped lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by assasin6547 View Post
Is that algae or moss?
lol looks like hair algae. Either way shrimp love it.
Bananariot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:57 AM   #7
CookieM
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 790
Default

That's one dirty tank (in a good way). You have 2 lamp for a 10g that's over kill, unless you are trying to grow algae.

Those are small size Marina breeder box? I got 2 large one it's better fit for a 10g.

Here something I did to my breeder box that you might consider to get rid of all those air pump noises.

Buy or find in goodwill/flee market the cheap fountain decorative. Pull out its pump and connect to the breeder box intake.


Last edited by CookieM; 04-09-2013 at 05:10 AM.. Reason: Info
CookieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:00 AM   #8
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

How do you grow algae like that? Looks interesting.
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:33 PM   #9
auban
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 576
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sayurasem View Post
How do you grow algae like that? Looks interesting.
believe it or not, i stapled the algae to a log and then just pulled it all off every time it grew about an inch long. after a few weeks, it was coming in really thick, all the bald spots had filled in.



first its grown floating:


then i cleat it up a bit and cut it into sheets:


after that, as long as you keep a light on it and dont put it in with any of your plants (algae only tank) it will behave like a moss. its perfect for shrimp, its cheap, doesn't look too bad, and it pulls ammonia out of the water faster than moss. i like it.

Quote:
You have 2 lamp for a 10g that's over kill, unless you are trying to grow algae.
im ALWAYS trying to grow algae i have just about gotten down to an art now. i makes the algae do me bidding.
auban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:56 PM   #10
MABJ
Invert Warrior
 
MABJ's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 3,883
Default building a breeder rack on a ten gallon...

Change your title to MadAlgaeMasta
__________________
|Mossy Bonsai|Almost ADA|DBP Loonnng|CRS Spec|
|My Tanks ʌ | Shrimp advice v|
|Essential tools|List of inverts|Sage advice|Truth About Snails|
Mark A Belcher Junior, founder -- DBP Club.
MABJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:23 PM   #11
Bushkill
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bushkill, Pa
Posts: 1,079
Default

Where did you get the SS mesh for the spillway? I've been using sections of filter padding but it clogs real fast.
Bushkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:31 PM   #12
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

Those clamp lights look dangerous?
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:08 PM   #13
Bananariot
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bananariot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Biddeford, Maine
Posts: 2,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushkill View Post
Where did you get the SS mesh for the spillway? I've been using sections of filter padding but it clogs real fast.
I buuy the ss mesh from either fleabay or some ppl here and cut it into the shape i need.
Bananariot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 07:46 PM   #14
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,814
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

if you want some of that algae i got some. mine started from moss balls. the set spores in my tank and since then i get tons of the hair/thread/matt algae

bananariot, what is the pump i have one but its way to strong and mine is for a small desk top fountian can you give the specs on it please
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:24 PM   #15
Zenzu
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cerritos,CA
Posts: 235
Default

nvmI guess it was just the angle it looked like your beeder box was a gutted hob filter

Also what's with people using cladophora and Utricularia Gibba in their shrimp tanks?
Zenzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012