New tank with ADA substrate questions
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2013, 01:01 AM   #1
Jester946
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ
Posts: 280
Default

New tank with ADA substrate questions


So I built a new nano tank: Eheim Aquastyle 9 gallon...

I wanted to follow ADA's method with this tank, so I used the three layers they recommend, Sand, bactor, and Amazonia.

Since I have a 2215 on an already establish tank, I put the new media (about 1/16th of what was in there) into that filter, and used media from it in my new Eheim Aquastyle.

After this, I added some water (about 1/2") and planted HC and some stem plants, then filled it. Of course, the water was BLACK from this, even though I used a bag to pour the water on. After sitting 24hrs, the water is a tea colour. I am going to let it sit another day, and then do a WC if it is still tea colour.

Now the question: When can I add shrimp? I already hooked up my CO2, and have it setup and going. With established media, I figure the tank is somewhat cycled, right? Will I need to wait until the substrate is established also?
Jester946 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2013, 01:12 AM   #2
meppitech
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
meppitech's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 406
Default

Pretty sure you will have to wait for the soil to stop leaching ammonia before you add livestock
meppitech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:16 AM   #3
Jester946
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meppitech View Post
Pretty sure you will have to wait for the soil to stop leaching ammonia before you add livestock
What is the usual time frame on that?

I will get my test kit out and get to work on it now, is it OK to start the EI dosing right now, since I already have plants in it?
Jester946 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:24 AM   #4
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,667
Default

ADA's official recommendation is that if the water is cloudy from the Aquasoil after the initial fill, you drain it again and again until it is clear before you start the filter system. The reason they give is because the fine particles will get into the filter and lead to algae problems from decay and clogging.

Time frame to reach zero ammonia with a fresh bag is usually with 4-8 weeks, even with an established filter.
Green_Flash is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 02:03 AM   #5
meppitech
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
meppitech's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 406
Default

I have no personal experience except the research i have done. Im looking to use aquasoil but am not rushing it. I have read and read and read some more. I can give you facts but still dont feel confident quite yet to take the plunge. Let me know how it works. What aquasoil are you using? I hear the amazonia new leeches for almost two months. Im not sure but i hear some of the others dont leech so much (malaya, etc.)
meppitech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 02:13 AM   #6
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

time from on it leeching ammonia is 2-4 weeks using a under gravel filter and 4-12 weeks using a regular filter. Doing massive water changes won't make it happen faster, it will just wear the buffer out quicker. The soil is loaded with ammonia and leeches out and that's that with the soil.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 03:05 AM   #7
meppitech
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
meppitech's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 406
Default

This is why i am so unsure. Three months of leeching and then you have to do it all over again a year later to replace the soil when the buffering capability wears out. Jeez!
meppitech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 03:07 AM   #8
Jester946
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeToChKn View Post
time from on it leeching ammonia is 2-4 weeks using a under gravel filter and 4-12 weeks using a regular filter. Doing massive water changes won't make it happen faster, it will just wear the buffer out quicker. The soil is loaded with ammonia and leeches out and that's that with the soil.
Thanks for the information. I finished planting it today, and added the one rock I wanted to add covered in moss. This stirred the substrate and went from Tea to black again. I did two 50% water changes, and those will be the last water changes until the ammonia stops leaching.
Jester946 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 05:53 AM   #9
Assassynation
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 330
Default

My CRS tank (6gal edge) was leaching ammonia for 2 months. After I introduced my RCS breeding colony a few days later, I had an ammonia spike in the middle of the night, and wiped them out. Be sure to lightly stir the soil a little bit to help release the bubbles. I haven't read anything saying ADA Amazonia is only good for a year either. You can look through my thread down there.
Assassynation is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 02:21 PM   #10
Jester946
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Assassynation View Post
My CRS tank (6gal edge) was leaching ammonia for 2 months. After I introduced my RCS breeding colony a few days later, I had an ammonia spike in the middle of the night, and wiped them out. Be sure to lightly stir the soil a little bit to help release the bubbles. I haven't read anything saying ADA Amazonia is only good for a year either. You can look through my thread down there.
Anytime I stir, the water turns black....

And yes, I did release some bubbles when I was planting it...

What is a good method to get the bubbles out, other than stiring? Poking?
Jester946 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 02:55 PM   #11
genomer
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 129
Default Re: New tank with ADA substrate questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by meppitech View Post
This is why i am so unsure. Three months of leeching and then you have to do it all over again a year later to replace the soil when the buffering capability wears out. Jeez!
I've been using the same aquasoil over and over in different escapes for 3+ years. It does not need replacing on a yearly basis...so don't fret.
genomer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 03:50 PM   #12
Jester946
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ
Posts: 280
Default

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...=168992&page=7

ASmazing thread.

So I did an ammonia test today, mind you, yesterday I did two 50% WC.

Of course, I freaked when I thought my Ammonia was at 8.0...it really was 4.0

So I did three 30% WC, and it's back down to .50

Going to do 50% WC daily as Frank suggests, and let nature take it's course.
Jester946 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 07:42 PM   #13
chew
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 355
Default New tank with ADA substrate questions

You can do the daily changes but it wears out the buffer and gets rid of some of the nutrients it leeches. Best thing I did for mine was just 50% change when ammonia got over 4ppm and I only had to change it 3 times during the cycle
__________________
chew is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2013, 12:01 AM   #14
Jester946
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ
Posts: 280
Default



Jester946 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2013, 02:04 AM   #15
meppitech
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
meppitech's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 406
Default

After three years, what is the soil buffering your ph to?
meppitech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012