UP Aqua Inline CO2 Diffuser
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2013, 01:16 AM   #1
Cyanider
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 517
Default

UP Aqua Inline CO2 Diffuser


I've been using one of these for a while now (the larger one - looks like a small jar)

I was wondering if anyone's had experience with these. Seems like it requires a lot of pressure to diffuse, more pressure than my solenoid can handle. The solenoid doesn't stop anything after 60psi (AquaMedic pulse - I'm working on assembling a Burkert one to replace it with)

Also, if you own this, has it ever leaked on you? Woke up one morning and noticed my co2 tank went from ~600 psi to ~200 psi.
Cyanider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2013, 01:33 AM   #2
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,432
Default

Regarding the second part of your post, if your CO2 cylinder went from 600 PSI to 200 PSI, then I would not suspect the diffuser, but rather, a leak somewhere along the chain of equipment (regulator, solenoid, needle valve, bubble counter, etc). Don't forget to check the actual regulator/CO2 cylinder connection as well.

You can check that there is no leak with soapy water.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:36 AM   #3
Cyanider
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 517
Default

Well before that happened it was running strong for 3+ weeks. Could any of my connections have loosened from pressure?

I'll have to test with soapy water... I bet something didn't like the high pressure I need to diffuse.
Cyanider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:44 AM   #4
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,184
Default Re: UP Aqua Inline CO2 Diffuser

Yep, it needs about 35psi of crack pressure. I've been using two of them for couple of years with no issues.

Increased pressure probably made your existing leak more noticeable or loosened a marginal connection. The higher the pressure the easier it is to find leaks with soap water.

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:48 AM   #5
BriDroid
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 348
Default

I'm using them as well, 40 psi works well for both of mine. I would think your solenoid should be able to handle 40 psi.

It sounds like you're leaking somewhere.
BriDroid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 07:51 AM   #6
mwuf15
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: sf
Posts: 276
Default

anything over 45 psi on the diffuser is overkill. I'm using mine at around 35psi and it is more than enough.
mwuf15 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012