Algae identification and correction
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 10:06 PM   #1
bbergeron
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 46
Default

Algae identification and correction


Hey all,

I finally got my 45 gallon tank up and running but I seem to be battling problem after problem. The latest is an outbreak in algae where I mostly know what the cause was and I'm looking for some info on what kind of algae I have and how to combat it.

I left my tank setup and running over the weekend while I was away at my parents. I came back to realize I had the timer for the lights on the wrong setting so they were on 24/7 and also my co2 wasn't actually on as it needed some fiddling and time to actually start dosing out co2.

I'm now down to 6 hours of light 10-12pm and 6-10pm and am trying to get my co2 at the level I want. I've been overdosed on co2 since Monday night when the co2 finally started getting into the tank.

Below are the pics of the tank, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Brown (clear maybe?) algae growing on the substrate (fluval stratum)
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130402_190504.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	102.5 KB
ID:	118802

Closeup on the HC
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130402_190528.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	117.3 KB
ID:	118810

Algae floating after vacuuming most of the substrate to try to get rid of the algae.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130402_194420.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	94.3 KB
ID:	118818

Green algae starting on the HC
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130403_172814.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	176.5 KB
ID:	118826
bbergeron is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2013, 10:50 PM   #2
stealthypotatoes
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
stealthypotatoes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 839
Default

I had the same problem too except mine was smaller. I just used an algae sponge on the glass and vaccumed the rest away. I set a blackout for a day or 2 and turned off all co2
now I have little to no algae left
hope this helps
stealthypotatoes is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 11:16 PM   #3
Wwh2694
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Wwh2694's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arlington, texas
Posts: 308
Default Algae identification and correction

That looks like diatoms. How many months does the tank running. For diatoms Amanos will eat it also Ottos. Only put fish when you know tank is cycled. Need more plants, your substrate needs to be fully covered. What type of substrate is it? amazonia? Any type of soil will leach silicates/phosphates in the beginning that feed the diatoms. Need to put some seachem phosguard. Also do water change every 2-3 days till everything is controlled.
Wwh2694 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 01:25 AM   #4
bbergeron
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 46
Default

Substrate = Fluval Stratum

Tank has been running for just under a week.

As far as more plants I will be getting the rest I will be planting on Friday. The back and side will be all plants with some wood in the middle if I can ever get it to sink.

Looks like water changes and cycling for me. Glad to know nothing more is needed.
bbergeron is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 09:11 PM   #5
Centromochlus
Honeycomb Master
 
Centromochlus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (117/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Phoenix/Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 6,680
Default Algae identification and correction

Rhizoclonium. It's a tough algae to get rid of IME. Decrease light, increase flow, and manually remove as much as you can. Black mollies will sometimes eat it, and I've heard that true SAE's do as well.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________


Centromochlus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 09:21 PM   #6
CPDzeke
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
CPDzeke's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 960
Default

I just tackled my rhizo. It did not look anything like that. I read that it is caused by low nutrients and low co2. Now I dose macros and micros and it is gone. Good luck!
CPDzeke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012