12 gallon lighting and Co2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
Quad Media
Algae Grower
 
Quad Media's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 8
Question

12 gallon lighting and Co2


Yesterday we purchased a new 45 litre (~12 gallon) tank and I just wanted to make sure our lighting solution will fit the purpose.

Currently we have 1 x RESUN SL-15 15W T8 fixture, which holds Hagen SUN-GLO 15W 4200K.

We're planing to purchase one more fixture and add Hagen LIFE-GLO 15W 6700K, so in total we'll have 2 x T8 lamps, 15W each, 4200K and 6700K.

Now, the questions are:
  1. Will that be enough for a tank like this if we want to grow plants that do require quite high light, for example, carpet type ones (dwarf hairgrass, baby tears)?
  2. Will we need to inject Co2?
Quad Media is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2013, 12:45 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (428/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,368
Default

What are the dimensions of your tank and how far from the substrate will your fixture be placed?
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:56 PM   #3
Quad Media
Algae Grower
 
Quad Media's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry, forgot to mention - 50cm (width) x 30cm (height) x 30cm (depth). Both fixtures will be approximately 25cm far from the substrate.
Quad Media is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 01:49 PM   #4
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (428/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,368
Default

Since your fixture will be just under 10 inches from the substrate, I think a single T8 bulb would be fine for most plants without CO2. Two bulbs, depending upon your reflectors, could necessitate the use of CO2.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 08:34 PM   #5
Quad Media
Algae Grower
 
Quad Media's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you!

Just one last question - can I replace pressured Co2 injection with just Flourish Excel?
Quad Media is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 08:43 PM   #6
melanotaenia
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad Media View Post
Thank you!

Just one last question - can I replace pressured Co2 injection with just Flourish Excel?
While the end result may be similar, you are not going to get the same level of diffusion of C02 in plants through dosing of Excel when compared to pressurized C02 delivery.

Some people even run Excel with C02 to aid in the utilization of the gas by the plants in the aquarium.

Hope that helps!
melanotaenia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012