Too much CO2! How to get the levels down?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2013, 04:38 PM   #1
unicknn
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mesa,Az
Posts: 34
Default

Too much CO2! How to get the levels down?


Im just getting my CO2 going and I think I put way to much in it. I was in bed and my GF noticed my gourami was dark, I got up and saw all the fish at the surface so I shut the CO2 off and used a hose to blow some air in the water. Should I do anything else? I dont think Im going to loose any fish but I want to get it back to safe levels so the fish arnt so stressed.


Thanks
Nick
unicknn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2013, 04:58 PM   #2
Rcguerra
Algae Grower
 
Rcguerra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 76
Default

Increase water surface movement. Sometimes taking 2-3 inches of water from the current level will allow filtration to "drop" instead of "flow", oxigenating the water and also allowing CO2 to get out.
Rcguerra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:03 PM   #3
unicknn
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mesa,Az
Posts: 34
Default

ahh yea great idea, I didnt think of that. Just did it, thanks man!
unicknn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:24 PM   #4
boosted23
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: phoenix
Posts: 57
Default Re: Too much CO2! How to get the levels down?

Yeah, add a bubbler and air pump. The bubbles will remove co2 pretty fast.

Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2
boosted23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:31 PM   #5
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,326
Default

You will gas your fish when learning CO2. But your losses may vary.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:21 PM   #6
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyWithTheFish View Post
You will gas your fish when learning CO2. But your losses may vary.
There's absolutely no need to gas your fish. Plenty of oxygenation via surface agitation and good circulation with very gradual adjustment of CO2 will prevent it.
Jeff5614 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:00 PM   #7
unicknn
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mesa,Az
Posts: 34
Default

I just had the needle valve open way too much, all of this happened in like 30 minutes. I set up the CO2 last night and ran it for an hour or so then turned it off and this morning it turned on at with the lights and within 30-45 minutes my GF noticed my Gourami was much darker than normal and I got out of bed and noticed all the fish at the surface so I knew it was the CO2. Turned it off, drained some water to get the agitation up and now all is well.
unicknn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:11 AM   #8
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff5614 View Post
There's absolutely no need to gas your fish. Plenty of oxygenation via surface agitation and good circulation with very gradual adjustment of CO2 will prevent it.
This. Slowly ramp up instead of blasting it out of the gate then dialing back.
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:17 AM   #9
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,238
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

Just to add about not gassing fish. Not to say I haven't come home to fish gasping but now that I am familiar with CO2, it's not that hard. However, it may take me 2-3 weeks to get everything dialed in, depending on how busy I am. I never adjust CO2 when I can't be their to check on things. That is atleast 5 hours per adjustment, I like to have more. Then make very small adjustments over time. Eventually you will find the balance without any harm to your livestock.

You may find them stressed at a certain level at first but find they adapt and you can go higher, sometimes quite a bit. That's why it can take so long.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:38 AM   #10
watercage
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila Suburbs
Posts: 128
Default

should you run as much co2 as possible, without causing the fish distress?
__________________
watercage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012