Help me decide.....sump or wet/dry - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2013, 03:42 AM   #16
shrimpNewbie
Wannabe Guru
 
shrimpNewbie's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: california, orange county
Posts: 1,891
Default

Help me decide.....sump or wet/dry


Doesn't
Make sense to me if people really are claiming that...
shrimpNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2013, 09:32 PM   #17
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mott View Post
Can you actually run a wet dry at a higher co2 ppm than with a canister?
It seems that some of you are claiming that? I didn't think that was possible but you learn something new everyday.
no and yes.. you can run a cannister just as high
but on a tank full of fish and shrimp, having the extra oxygen provided by a wet/dry is very beneficial and they will much appreciate it
Tom has tested and see's a 2-3 ppm increase over other types of filtration in terms of oxygen before plants start producing.
my fish agree with this conclusion. my tank has never looked healthier since switching to a wet/dry and i wont switch back. even my shrimp tank has one now.

wet/dry's are not nitrate factories. cannisters are because most people fill them with floss type materials that hold debris. my mechanical pad gets changed weekly and its about 1/4 an inch thick and 10 inches by 6 inches. its not a lot.
the rest of my media is bio bale which is slick and doesn't hold tons of debris

my tank as of this morning.. other pictures are in the journal. even my yellow drop checker a few pages back. its more of a reference point than anything, just to know my co2 is on and working
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:45 AM   #18
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (83/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
no and yes.. you can run a cannister just as high
but on a tank full of fish and shrimp, having the extra oxygen provided by a wet/dry is very beneficial and they will much appreciate it
Tom has tested and see's a 2-3 ppm increase over other types of filtration in terms of oxygen before plants start producing.
my fish agree with this conclusion. my tank has never looked healthier since switching to a wet/dry and i wont switch back. even my shrimp tank has one now.

wet/dry's are not nitrate factories. cannisters are because most people fill them with floss type materials that hold debris. my mechanical pad gets changed weekly and its about 1/4 an inch thick and 10 inches by 6 inches. its not a lot.
the rest of my media is bio bale which is slick and doesn't hold tons of debris

my tank as of this morning.. other pictures are in the journal. even my yellow drop checker a few pages back. its more of a reference point than anything, just to know my co2 is on and working
HD, should I add some fine filter media or is just the blue/white filter pad good enough as long as I keep up with the maintenance? Cleaning once a week will be easy to do with my weekly maintenance.
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:36 AM   #19
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

depends really on the tank, inhabitants, feeding habits, and substrate

on my 29 gallon one mechanical pad was fine
on this one one pad was not enough for the first few weeks i guess as the dust from the aquasoil was very high and i ran a 50 micron whole house filter. but now the single pad is fine

a prefilter sponge also helps a lot and grabs more than u think in the overflow.
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 02:28 AM   #20
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (83/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,240
Default

Sounds good. I will just try it with a mech pad. I am building the filter and was planning on adding baffles just to have the ability to put whatever I want. I was also planning on putting a little planted section mainly for growing mosses or a little holding area.
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:33 AM   #21
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (83/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,240
Default

Btw, would it be better to seal off the whole sump and wet/dry area or wil just sealing the wet/dry be enough to help with the co2 loss?
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 12:59 PM   #22
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

you can seal it all off. but without surface movement in the sump area itself, little will be lost there
i'd just seal the wet/dry section
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012