Co2 level in Plant only Tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 01:00 AM   #1
Mahawka
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 111
Default

Co2 level in Plant only Tank


Hey guys i have a quick question. I recently purchased a pressurized co2 system for my HC only aquarium. (NO FISH). I also have a solenoid connected on the system. Currently I have a slight string algae problem and i am hoping the Co2 will take care of that.

1) My question is how much Co2 can i pump in ?
2) Is there a point when there is just too much co2?
3) What is the optimal PPM for HC growth and reduce algae?

My set up
10 gallon (regular size)
t5OH 24 watts with direct reflectors
ADA soil


Thanks
Mahawka is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2013, 01:03 AM   #2
CPDzeke
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
CPDzeke's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 960
Default

I don't think you can have too much co2, as long as there is no livestock. Check with someone else though, just to be sure. I need to see this tank, sounds cool!
__________________
ADA Gentleman #1
Treeless Mountain V3
CPDzeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 01:07 AM   #3
Mahawka
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPDzeke View Post
I don't think you can have too much co2, as long as there is no livestock. Check with someone else though, just to be sure. I need to see this tank, sounds cool!
Thanks for the quick reply.

This is a link to my tank.
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...944&highlight=
Mahawka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 01:55 AM   #4
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
xmas_one's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,250
Default

Crank it!
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 02:03 AM   #5
Idrankwhat
Planted Member
 
Idrankwhat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 237
Default

I'd base it off the HC response, really you're wasting your CO2 with that wattage if you pump in for more than 15 or 20 ppm. You should strive to deliver as little to them as possible and still get good growth and maybe some cool pearling!
Idrankwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 02:04 AM   #6
Idrankwhat
Planted Member
 
Idrankwhat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 237
Default

CPDzeke don't hate Fluval, hate what it does.....
Idrankwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 02:23 AM   #7
Mahawka
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 111
Default

Will the algae die off at that PPM ?
Mahawka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 02:38 AM   #8
Idrankwhat
Planted Member
 
Idrankwhat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 237
Default

I could be mistaken here but the CO2 won't kill off the algae. The algae needs to be starved of the nutrients feeding it and this is best accomplished by having growing plants, consistent CO2 levels, and consistent mineral and fert levels. Algae is far more adaptable than the plants so when these levels get out of balance, the plants will sometimes shut down and the algae steps up its game.
Idrankwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 03:27 AM   #9
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,345
Default

The only thing you can do is waste it... I'm sure there's a point where it diffuses into the air more than plants can use it.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:09 AM   #10
ReluctantHippy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Carmichael, CA
Posts: 330
Default

You can hit a point at which growth starts to be stunted but it's pretty high. In terrestrial plants ideal/economical artificial CO2 rates are between 500-1000ppm. No idea what that translates to in aquatic plants. Couple helpful charts:



And what Idrankwhat says, CO2 doesn't kill algae, it just helps the plants out-compete it.
__________________
ReluctantHippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 05:23 AM   #11
beedee
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
beedee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 686
Default

turn it up to 11!
__________________
beedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 08:43 PM   #12
vvDO
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
vvDO's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Richmond, CA
Posts: 388
Default

You can up the CO2 for sure as its seems like you have lot of excess light. Do you have pressurized CO2 and how are you diffusing it.
__________________
Mr. Aqua 30cm cube journal
20L high tech journal
Fluval EDGE slightly modded, low tech
3+ gallon (40 x 16 x 20.5 cm) aquatic soil, low-tech
Fluval spec V (sitting in a box)
vvDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:31 PM   #13
homemadepopcorn
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York City, NY
Posts: 351
Default

You could shoot for 50-60 ppm but you'd really be wasting CO2. Start it up high and then turn it down until you see decreases in growth.
homemadepopcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:30 AM   #14
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,298
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

I just turn mine up to where my drop checker is an almost invisible yellow. However, it's good to keep it close to where it's going to be with fish after a few weeks unless you never plan for live stock.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:12 AM   #15
Mahawka
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvDO View Post
You can up the CO2 for sure as its seems like you have lot of excess light. Do you have pressurized CO2 and how are you diffusing it.
Yea actually I have a lot of light for the tank. it's a "ho" bulb and it only about 12 inches away from the HC. I am using a pressurized system with a ceramic glass diffuser.


------------------------------------------------------------------

I will give it 40 ppm a test for now and see what type of results I get.

One more question. Should i be turning on my Co2 1 hour before light on and 1 hour before light off to decrease Co2 fluctuation during photo period ?
Mahawka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012