Blue Green Algae!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2003, 04:16 AM   #1
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

I have been fighting blue green algae for about a month now, what am I doing wrong? How can I get rid of this cr@p, it is killing my plants. I did have a huge phosphate spike, off the charts, now it's back to normal. It does not seem to be coming back in such force anymore, but it still comes back.

Here are my water params:
Phosphates: .75
Nitrates: 20
Nitrites:0
PH 7.6
Hardness: 130

I have read about this kind of Algae, and how it says that it exists in poor water quality, but I do not know what is so poor about my water.

Help!
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2003, 06:34 AM   #2
Ace
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Ace's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Penang,Malaysia
Posts: 336
Send a message via ICQ to Ace Send a message via MSN to Ace Send a message via Yahoo to Ace
Default

cut off the plants with the algae and make water changes until the water parameters return normal.
Ace is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 06:47 AM   #3
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

That's a good idea about the plants. What are "normal" water parameters. I think mine are pretty good. What should I change?
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 07:16 AM   #4
Ace
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Ace's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Penang,Malaysia
Posts: 336
Send a message via ICQ to Ace Send a message via MSN to Ace Send a message via Yahoo to Ace
Default

I need more information on your tank.

1) how big is your tank?
2) what lightning you using?
3) do you add plant fertilizer that contains phosphate or nitrate?
__________________
New Tank!

80 g, Eheim Pro II w Hagen Surface Skimmer, TetraTec IN-1000, JBL Aquabasis and Sand subtrate,
1st 40w Lighting: 40W Marine Glo
2nd 80w Lighting: 2 40W Power Glo
3rd 80w Lighting: 2 40W Aqua Glo
Whole set of Azoo fertilizers
3.8 kg Pressurized co2 tank
Ace is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 07:55 AM   #5
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

It's a 29 gallon, with a 65 cf light. I use sand and gravel substrate. Fresh water essentials, and pro plant.

Are my water params bad?
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 08:01 AM   #6
Ace
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Ace's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Penang,Malaysia
Posts: 336
Send a message via ICQ to Ace Send a message via MSN to Ace Send a message via Yahoo to Ace
Default

:shock: Your light is pretty powerful.Do all of your plants require high light requirements?

How ofen you dose the pro plant?
__________________
New Tank!

80 g, Eheim Pro II w Hagen Surface Skimmer, TetraTec IN-1000, JBL Aquabasis and Sand subtrate,
1st 40w Lighting: 40W Marine Glo
2nd 80w Lighting: 2 40W Power Glo
3rd 80w Lighting: 2 40W Aqua Glo
Whole set of Azoo fertilizers
3.8 kg Pressurized co2 tank
Ace is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 06:01 PM   #7
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

My light gives me 2.24 wpg, about the norm. I dose ferts, once every other week, after I do water changes.
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 07:24 PM   #8
DLeDeaux
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DLeDeaux's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 377
Send a message via ICQ to DLeDeaux Send a message via AIM to DLeDeaux Send a message via MSN to DLeDeaux
Default

Have you tested your nitrate levels?

I had a bout of BGA a few weeks back and I tested my nitrate levels and found them to be at 0. I started making certain that my levels were 5 to 10ppm and treated the tank with erythromycin and vacuumed out what I could. I licked it in 2 days but dosed for 4 days for good measure, and it has not returned since.
__________________
--- Dave ---
DLeDeaux is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 08:28 PM   #9
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

My nitrates are fine, (water parameters above). I have heard that if you treat your tank with erythromycin, it kills the bacteria level which will raise your ammonia and nitrates, kind of like when the tank is cycling. Did this happen to you? Where can you get erythromycin? How much is it? Sorry for the questions, but I really want to get rid of this junk!
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 09:09 PM   #10
DLeDeaux
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DLeDeaux's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 377
Send a message via ICQ to DLeDeaux Send a message via AIM to DLeDeaux Send a message via MSN to DLeDeaux
Default

No I haven't had any problems with ammonia spikes. I believe the product I used was called Maracide 2. It was about $15 for one package. I hardly used any of the package. At least I'll be prepared if it happens again or I need to treat my fish for something.

There is a freshwater and saltwater version of Maracide. I almost got the SW because it was cheaper, and then I realized that it was labeled SW. I'm not sure why there is a difference, although the SW version had some additional chemicals in it. I'm not sure if those are FW safe or not.
__________________
--- Dave ---
DLeDeaux is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2003, 09:33 PM   #11
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

I may give it a shot, thank you very much.
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2003, 05:16 PM   #12
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (260/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,487
Default

Try doing a 3 day balcout.
Works as well as the antibiotics and cost nothing.
It also addresses the long term problem already mentioned, low NO3's.

Your NO3 kit is very likely off.
Add a little KNO3 to some water and try to see if you get any reading etc.
Don't add any KNO3 and see if you get any reading etc.

All you do is clean the tank out well, remove all the BGA you can.
Then do a 50% water change, add KNO3 to the tank and turn off the lights/CO2 for 3 days. Cover tank with trash bags. Make sure no light gets in.

Uncover the tank. Do another 50% water change, dose KNO3 back into the tank, and keep up on your dosings, (1-3 x a week generally depending on growth rates).

It's that easy, it's free and you do not need 15$ worth of drugs.

Also do you use CO2?
That's too much light without CO2, your pH is high(7.6) so I assume you are not using CO2.
Using CO2 will help the plants grow faster.

It will also increase the uptake or PO4 etc.

Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2003, 06:46 PM   #13
mattrmiller
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 152
Default

I have had my LFS test my water to make sure my parameters are OK. I have tried a blackout for a weekend, and still no luck. It always comes back. I have tried so many things I can not help to think that I am making it worse, and I will never know how to make it better because I am making so many changes. The antibiotics are not expensive at my LFS, only $5, so I am going to give them a try. It's a last ditch effort. I will let you know what happens.
mattrmiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with blue green algae! rayhwong Algae 6 09-10-2004 08:03 PM
Dark Blue Green Algae in 2.5! Mussa888 Algae 3 08-28-2004 04:40 AM
My algae problems depthC Algae 1 03-07-2004 08:07 PM
Blue Green Algae? NewMariner Algae 2 02-19-2003 06:40 PM
Green spot algae. m.lemay General Planted Tank Discussion 4 09-05-2002 01:44 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012