Moving need to move planted tanks
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2013, 09:31 AM   #1
CurvingEdge
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default

Moving need to move planted tanks


Hi new to the forum, and to fishkeeping and aquascaping.

I have to move a 20L and a 29g tall aquarium any advice on how to keep my fish and plants alive during the move?

20L been have probs with my water quality so i only have 4 fish in there. I have play sand and flourite for substrate..

29 has seachem sand and dark flourite as well with blue relatively large gravel I got when i got the tank 2nd hand.
CurvingEdge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2013, 12:08 PM   #2
seuadr
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Eaton Rapids, Mi, USA
Posts: 267
Default

how far? how long?

you could look at moving fish into those half gallon betta boxes with a tiny heater and a bubbler for a while.. a day at most possibly?

when we moved our tank around, we drained it all the way down to just an inch or so above substrate and moved it, but it was not in the winter to worry about the plants getting too cold.
seuadr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:06 PM   #3
CurvingEdge
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default

probably an hr so of move time once they hit the temporary tank. since i have to move 2 Im thinking of moving all the fish to the 20 for a day or to maybe a week. i dont think i have time to do 2 in one day. or should I move all live stock at once to reduce stress?
CurvingEdge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:15 PM   #4
secuono
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
secuono's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/96%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 887
Send a message via AIM to secuono Send a message via Yahoo to secuono
Default

You only need to drain the water, remove rocks or wood and remove fish. Everything else can be left in the tank, so just fill, add the rock/wood/fish and you're done.
It's fine to overstock for a short while, as long as you keep up good w/c.
__________________
~Arikun
Plant lady
Leaving the hobby failed, sorry. Should of known better.

secuono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 06:49 AM   #5
CurvingEdge
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default

thx for the replies
CurvingEdge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012