Window 8 - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Forums > The Lounge & Introductions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 12:49 PM   #16
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Strangely enough, I kinda like win8. From a performance standpoint, it's pretty awesome running from an SSD on my older DDR2 hardware.

From a stability standpoint, I haven't had too many problems with it. I can run gaming and basic picture editing, etc.

One really annoying glitch: If I plug in my Samsung GS3 to my desktop, it will cause windows 8 to "invalidate" itself. I cannot get it to go through Windows Validation until I unplug the GS3.

Prior to this, I was running Ubuntu 10.04, so I'm used to hunting around for options. I only went back to Windows so I could game with my girlfriend.
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2013, 06:20 PM   #17
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,097
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by assasin6547 View Post
My dad, some sort of computer programmer says it sucks, almost like a vista remake.
not even close to accurate
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 08:18 PM   #18
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scapegoat View Post
not even close to accurate
Unlike Vista, 8 actually runs for me. Vista lived on a test box in the office for about...4 hours.
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 08:19 PM   #19
Level200
Algae Grower
 
Level200's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England, North east
Posts: 29
Default Re: Window 8

I have windows 8 on my touch screen laptop. Best of both worlds

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Level200 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 08:30 PM   #20
Geniusdudekiran
Prodigious Plant Pundit
 
Geniusdudekiran's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 5,367
Default

Have yet to find someone who likes it... personally all it's done me is drive me one step closer to a Mac.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." -- Steve Jobs
Geniusdudekiran is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 08:57 PM   #21
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,097
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post
Unlike Vista, 8 actually runs for me. Vista lived on a test box in the office for about...4 hours.
vista ended up being a failure for lower powered machines, which a lot of people had and made up the majority of complainers when it came out. I had a quad-core 8gb ram machine, so vista was great for me. 7 was even better and I love the OS. 8, since it is such a hybrid of an OS (desktop/tablet) is doing so much better on those lower powered devices than vista ever could

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geniusdudekiran View Post
Have yet to find someone who likes it... personally all it's done me is drive me one step closer to a Mac.
I've a developer friend who loves 8. what don't you like about it? I've yet to play with it. as a programmer I'm not ready to move my work station over to it.
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 10:31 PM   #22
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkCobra View Post
As a power user and programmer I HATE Windows 8. Really tired of Microsoft progressively dumbing things down, "protecting" me from myself, and trying to turn desktop computers into glorified smartphones.

Anyone remember light pens? If so, you might also remember one of the big reasons they were quickly replaced by mice. Holding your arm out horizontally to interact with a desktop screen is quickly fatiguing, if you're doing any real work. Sacrificing mouse usability for touchscreen usability, on a desktop computer? Lunacy.

When forced to use Win8, I too use the classic shell. When I get my choice of Windows OS, it's XP.
Couldn't agree more, I too dislike Win 8 a lot.
Green_Flash is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 11:36 PM   #23
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

i just found out how to close(X) out apps. I say window 8 is good for touch screen only.
They need to being back window xp i love window xp.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2013, 12:50 PM   #24
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by In.a.Box View Post
i just found out how to close(X) out apps. I say window 8 is good for touch screen only.
The earlier keyboard shortcuts still work, such as Alt-F4.
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2013, 01:03 PM   #25
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (171/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 7,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post
The earlier keyboard shortcuts still work, such as Alt-F4.
That's my go to shortcut for rebel apps
__________________
The Aquatic Plant Society Curator of the NY/NJ/CT LFS & CO2 Directory
Namaste ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
acitydweller is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2013, 02:53 PM   #26
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post
The earlier keyboard shortcuts still work, such as Alt-F4.
thank the lord, and all other religious affiliates!
it would be a true shame if we didn't have the mighty close command.. it's saved my life countless times, not to metion reduced much frustration
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2013, 02:57 PM   #27
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,079
Default

Seen Majority Report? Only a matter of time...
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2013, 03:04 PM   #28
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (171/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 7,568
Default

that we shave our heads and become precogs? hehe
__________________
The Aquatic Plant Society Curator of the NY/NJ/CT LFS & CO2 Directory
Namaste ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
acitydweller is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2013, 01:31 PM   #29
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

I try out Skype today and didn't like it. I miss the window xp Skype.
Window 8 apps all look like my mobile phone apps.
I'm starting to think window 8 = mobile on a desktop/laptop.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2013, 04:46 PM   #30
mosspearl
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
mosspearl's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 672
Default

I had no choice... there were no Win7 machines to buy and I had to replace my desktop computer. I hate the apps. Now I have an extra step to avoid them when I turn on the machine. Aside from that, and learning a whole new way to turn things off and where to find my calculator, it runs fine. My printer still doesn't have a driver for it so I can scan things, which is annoying. Hopefully they'll finish it soon. My new computer is HP, and I hate the screenlock they put on the monitor so it won't turn off. I wish they had a setting so I could just turn the lock off. It gets set randomly (I guess I'm holding it for a split second longer when I turn it off sometimes and it gets set again) and then it won't turn off.
__________________
~Toni
Jars | Bowl | Shrimp |
BBRR Club! | Evolve-lution |
OOO Order of Ornamentaria
Member in good standing

mosspearl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012