should i un-plant my h.o.b filter ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 08:27 AM   #1
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 924
Default

should i un-plant my h.o.b filter ?


i have a hob filter loaded with plants,. lilies, arrow head plant, pothose vine, lucky bamboo, spider plants and a few vines i forget the name of

will they rob my aquatic plants of there nutrients? i dont dose column fertilizers , so just the ammonia and nitrates from fish and whatever nutrients leech out of my potting soil

i love the way they look but dont want the planted hob to starv my aquatic plants
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2013, 09:35 AM   #2
papwalker
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 162
Default

I suppose the will take some nutrients from the water but if you like the setup then why worry. Just stick some tabs around the tank plants. I quite like the idea of using a HOB like a planted sump. You got me thinking now
papwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:33 PM   #3
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

Water isn't 100% nutrient filtered via an planted HOB. As long as there is an overflow and you're monitoring water/light parameters, adding food/micronutrients, & circulation your plants should be OK.

I'd love to see a picture!
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 12:57 AM   #4
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 924
Default

i dont add micros so i may need to start
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 12:58 AM   #5
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 924
Default


Last edited by Darkblade48; 03-19-2013 at 02:59 AM.. Reason: Picture fix
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 12:59 AM   #6
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 924
Default

scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 01:53 AM   #7
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

nope no pics
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 03:00 AM   #8
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,214
Default

I tried to fix your pictures, but it does not work.

You will have to save the picture, and the reupload to an image hosting website and not link directly from that forum.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 05:54 AM   #9
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 924
Default

bummer i dont have a account with any image hosting site
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:03 AM   #10
frog111
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ridgecrest,ca
Posts: 96
Default

I would not unplant the hob, but the answer to your question is yes. You did not mention if you have a high light, co2 set up, I am guessing no, because without supplementing, you will have problems. It also depends on fish load.

If you read walstads book, she repeatedly talks about the aerial advantage, that floaters and bog plants can more efficiently utilize nutrients since they can access co2. So yes they are using no3 and other nutrients. But it all depends on how your plants are doing. If the aquatic stuff is not thriving, you may need to assess what is in short supply, my guess would be nitrates.
frog111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:09 AM   #11
mcaquatic
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 727
Default

would really like to see a picture of this setup. You got my interest.
mcaquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:18 PM   #12
tiggity
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty b View Post
bummer i dont have a account with any image hosting site
imgur.com
__________________
40B Dirt | Aqueon Evolve 8 Dirt | Fraternity of Dirt #120
tiggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 12:41 AM   #13
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 924
Default

the tank is med lighting i think dual no-t5's one at 10,000k the other at 6700k above the planted hod is 2 20w 6700ki cfl bulbs
it is a dirt bottom tank and i add liquid co2 alternative
ammonia and nitrate are at i would say 5 ppm the liquid test kit showed them as slightly darker then 0 but nowhere near 25
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:01 PM   #14
Hilde
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hilde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 4,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty b View Post
the tank is med lighting i think dual no-t5's one at 10,000k the other at 6700k above the planted hod is 2 20w 6700ki cfl bulbs
it is a dirt bottom tank and i add liquid co2 alternative
So what size is the tank? Why no pictures? Do not know about flickr and posting pics?
Hilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:52 PM   #15
sleepswithdafishez
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
sleepswithdafishez's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: under
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty b View Post
i have a hob filter loaded with plants,. lilies, arrow head plant, pothose vine, lucky bamboo, spider plants and a few vines i forget the name of

will they rob my aquatic plants of there nutrients? i dont dose column fertilizers , so just the ammonia and nitrates from fish and whatever nutrients leech out of my potting soil

i love the way they look but dont want the planted hob to starv my aquatic plants
Wouldn't it be the same nute uptake if you had them in the tank?
__________________
Can't come to work today ,Boss......I've got Bolbitis...
sleepswithdafishez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012