Aqueon modular led moonlight mod
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 02:12 AM   #1
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default

Aqueon modular led moonlight mod


Aqueon modular led moonlight mod d. Love the light and the price, but the moon light was not on a seperate plug. This was an easy fix. First I followed the moon light wire to the switch. I took the plastic switch cover off.(just squeeze it, and pull). Then I cut the moon lights wire as close as I could to where it connected to the switch. Then I got ahold of a male and female barrel conector like the one it comes with. This can be found at radio shack,superbrightleds.com,etc(there are inline dimmers youcan get too)make sure the power rating is the same on the plug. Drill a hole right near the exsisting power cord. Feed your new cord in. Strip op the wires on the moon light and female barrel plug. Use wire nuts to connect them. And your set. If there are any questions let me know.
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2013, 05:21 AM   #2
mixermandan
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Awesome!

Thanks! I just used this to add mine to a different timer, the other thing I did since my tank is deep is get rid of those week leds (busted them right off the rails) and used a single 24" blue LED strip (mode electronics from a local supplier). DRAMATIC improvement.
__________________
My tank: 36g Aqueon Bowfront, Aqueon 30" modular LED fixture, Aqueon Quietflow 30 Filter
Current Livestock: 5 emporer tetras, 4 corydora, 1 female betta, 4 Platys & 1 Platty fry (miracle baby made it past the betta and lived )
mixermandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:54 AM   #3
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default Re: Aqueon modular led moonlight mod

So did you take out the blue lights or the regular lights? I'm adding another strip to mine. But not the aqueon I'm buying a strip from superbrightleds and wiring it to the existing switch.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
__________________
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 01:50 PM   #4
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default Re: Aqueon modular led moonlight mod

I did another mod to this fixture. I spliced two led strips together so I could add s fourth bulb. I cut the wire coming out of the strips then used wire nuts to attach two strips to one barrel plug. I didn't need to add another plug because the one it comes with is is powerful enough.
__________________
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 07:40 PM   #5
Kaerey
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rocky Mountain Foothills
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zackariah View Post
I did another mod to this fixture. I spliced two led strips together so I could add s fourth bulb. I cut the wire coming out of the strips then used wire nuts to attach two strips to one barrel plug. I didn't need to add another plug because the one it comes with is is powerful enough.
In the above post you mentioned superbrightleds did you end up just using another Aqueon tube?
Kaerey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 07:54 PM   #6
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default Re: Aqueon modular led moonlight mod

I just added another strip I already had. I put pictures up on another aqueon led thread. Im worried the super bright LEDs will not be bright enough. The angle of light is 170+ degrees and. All the led fixtures and DIY setups I've seen on here have no more then 90.
__________________
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:44 PM   #7
mclaren880
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Any pics?

Hey Zackariah, sorry to bring an old thread back to life, but do you by any chance have any pics of what you did? I think i get what you did, I just want to be sure I don't screw my nice lights up. And what plug (the part that goes into the wall) did you use? Thanks a bunch!
mclaren880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:55 PM   #8
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default

I don't remember sorry. I have since switched to higher output leds. it needs to be low voltage or you will burn out the blue leds. (there are only a few) I don't have any pictures. I did take pictures when I added more strips. they are on the aqueon modular led thread. Hope this helps.
__________________
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 03:52 PM   #9
mclaren880
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default thanks!

No worries at all. I'll have a look at that other thread. I appreciate the reply, especially after such a long time, haha.
mclaren880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:35 PM   #10
zackariah
Planted Member
 
zackariah's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 292
Default

No prob. Good luck.
__________________
zackariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012