Very Soft Substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 06:25 AM   #1
newbieplanter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston ma
Posts: 724
Default

Very Soft Substrate?


I'm just tryin to figure out why my substrate is so soft?
I do have soil and oil dry about 1.5"of soil and about the same for a cap of oil dry.
newbieplanter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2013, 07:39 AM   #2
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,521
Default

It is a clay product only fired in a kiln for so long. Eco-complete is an example of how it would feel if it were baked longer.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2013, 07:59 AM   #3
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

I've heard very mixed results with Oil Dry, as if some batches were kiln-fired to higher temperatures than others. And that you can test in advance by putting some in a cup of water, then repeatedly freezing and thawing it. If it falls apart or turns to mud, it's no good for an aquarium.
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2013, 01:13 PM   #4
newbieplanter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston ma
Posts: 724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkCobra View Post
I've heard very mixed results with Oil Dry, as if some batches were kiln-fired to higher temperatures than others. And that you can test in advance by putting some in a cup of water, then repeatedly freezing and thawing it. If it falls apart or turns to mud, it's no good for an aquarium.
I'm thinkin its the oil dry too, don't know the make up process tho. I have a tank with sand over the same soil and it feels compacted, hard to push the plants into the soil but they stay when put into the sand / soil sub. The soil / oil dry some plants come back out no all tho, my hydrocotyal sometimes comes out I think the Cory cats do it tho. The only reason I can think why plants stay in that mix is because its so deep. I would like to change it but don't wanna desturb the growth of the plants.
newbieplanter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
soil, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012