Keeping co2 with a sump
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2013, 04:19 AM   #1
kwheeler91
Wannabe Guru
 
kwheeler91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Port Clinton, OH
Posts: 1,140
Default

Keeping co2 with a sump


Im sick of noisy hob filters. Canisters worth anything cost an arm and a leg. So I decided im going to run a hob overflow box and use my ten gallon thats always under the 55 anyway as a sump. Not sure if im going to build the overflow myself or leave it to the pros and get an eshopps, but thats not why im here. Anyway, im only running diy co2 right now but eventually I will have a pressurized and would like to know how those of you running sumps keep the co2 from gassing out?

To silence the overflow I will have the contraption that allows air to be pulled in so im thinking that could be a problem. Im going to run the line from the tank under the surface of the water in the sump though so no wet/dry to worry about. I want to diffuse the co2 into the return area of the sump or make an inline reactor for the return line and keep the outflows low in the tank to allow the co2 rich water to mix well before being pulled out at the top. Is there anything else that can be done?
__________________
kwheeler91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2013, 10:13 PM   #2
madness
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,698
Default

People like Tom Barr have figured out clever methods for seriously limiting CO2 loss in sumps.

I don't remember the specifics off the top of my head but there are solutions out there for you if you can track them down.

I am certain that plantbrain has some posts here that discuss his methods though.
madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:36 PM   #3
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

eliminate as much splash as you can in the design and seal the sump.

__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:27 AM   #4
smiller
Planted Member
 
smiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwheeler91 View Post
I want to diffuse the co2 into the return area of the sump or make an inline reactor for the return line
You also have the choice of using a needle wheel pump.

If you have never used a sump don't forget rule #1.....make sure when you turn off your pump the sump is large enough to hold any back flow.
__________________
smiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 04:51 PM   #5
kwheeler91
Wannabe Guru
 
kwheeler91's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Port Clinton, OH
Posts: 1,140
Default

I would have to keep the overflow kind of high because all I have room for is a ten gallon sump. I can always make a hole in the return to break the siphon in case it decides to drain my tank right?
__________________
kwheeler91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 05:03 PM   #6
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

i used the siphon break hole method on mine. works great

i also have a wet dry and setup properly it doens' twaste a lot of co2

noise is best controlled with a multiple drain setup OR a bigger drain line
anything over 300 gph through the drain needs a 1.5 inch drain line
anyhing under 300 needs a 1 inch
anything over 700 gph needs a 1.75 inch drain line OR jus make the big sep and go to 2 inch but that can handle like 1600-2000 gph quietly.. you likely will not need that much
__________________

Last edited by HD Blazingwolf; 03-11-2013 at 05:19 PM.. Reason: just cause i wanted to
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012