How do i eliminate this algae? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2013, 05:48 PM   #16
n00dl3
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (91/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boosted23 View Post
My susn sun is rated at 525 g/hr. Lets say 400gph with media. Cascade 1200 is rated at 384 gph. With media and spray bar lets say 250 gph. The aqueon 700 fan is 700 gph. So thats 650 gph filtration turn oover and another 700gph of flow which is 1350 gph of turn over flow. I think flow is good? I had to adjust them in a manner to where they werent tipping my plants completely over with flow. You can see the algae sway on the substrate with this flow but is attached to the rocks.

i will do my weekly 80% w.c. On sunday. Get more plants and cut dosing to see what happens.
I usually like to target at least 10x turnover. I think you're about there. No, need to add more. I would look at how the water is being circulated. It seem like isn't enough close to the substrate. The flow is your co2 and nutrients distribution. If you have good flow, IME algae shouldn't been sticking to your plants.
n00dl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2013, 05:59 PM   #17
boosted23
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: phoenix
Posts: 57
Default Re: How do i eliminate this algae?

Quote:
Originally Posted by n00dl3 View Post
I usually like to target at least 10x turnover. I think you're about there. No, need to add more. I would look at how the water is being circulated. It seem like isn't enough close to the substrate. The flow is your co2 and nutrients distribution. If you have good flow, IME algae shouldn't been sticking to your plants.
By the looks of it i think its more like my bunched plants are creating a net for it cause when i shake them it all falls off and they are definately green. Not withered. Your right though i am gonna have to lower the circ pump down more to get better flow on the bottom. I might just get two weaker ones so i can put them on each sides instead of the 700. thanks for that suggestion.
boosted23 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 01:02 AM   #18
boosted23
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: phoenix
Posts: 57
Default Re: How do i eliminate this algae?

Here is an update on my algae battle. I have been doing 70% wc on sundays and 50% on wednesdays. I have kept my lighting schedule the same. Added water lettuce and spiralis also. The spiralis melted though. I have been doing king kobra's 1-2 punch along with two carefully dosed algaefix. I also changed from flourish to greenleafs csm+b for micro's. 1/2 teaspoon three times a week along with cutting my macros down to 25% of my ei dosing regiment. After switching to csm+b dry ferts my plants took of like crazy!!!! I have since trimmed them twice to remove bba off of their leaves and this is what it looks like as of now. Its slowly getting better. I am liking the results so far. I also moved my flow to where i can see it making movement on the substrate. Thanks for all your advise!!!!! It certainly helped alot!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1364173285716.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	89.9 KB
ID:	112682  

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1364173299538.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	112690  

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1364173311551.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	112698  

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1364173322323.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	108.3 KB
ID:	112706  

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1364173332399.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	113.1 KB
ID:	112714  

boosted23 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:19 AM   #19
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,183
Default Re: How do i eliminate this algae?

:thumbup:

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:57 AM   #20
Hardstuff
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: mesa
Posts: 468
Default

Your GH & Kh is too high! Cut with R/O water or run 100% remineralized r/o with GH booster. I recommend The Green Leaf diffusers they seem the best for Co2. Stop dosing Flourish & switch to 100% EI dosing with Plantax with boron to add trace. Stop dosing Excel if your dosing EI. 80% is too large. Your chasing your tail. 50% is good enough. Seachem Prime irritates fish from my experience I simply do not use it anymore.
I have the same water you have. Before switching to R/O water I had all kinds of algae & sick fish. The water is too hard & your Kh is through the roof. There is nothing you can do about it. I would strip it down to nothing & build it back up. Do 50% water changes 1 time a week. With that kind of volume you will be using a massive amount of water. I am still not rushing my 55 for that same reason. My 10 is doing great now with EI dosing & 6500k bulbs with Flourite substrate. All I use now on my tanks are 100% remineralized water. I would never go back, the liquid rock, you can have, nothing but problems.
Hardstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:15 AM   #21
Hardstuff
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: mesa
Posts: 468
Default

I just looked up your fishes water requirements . Looks like 10-12 dGH. Thats a lot lower than GH17 . Looks like you could bring the Kh down which will help your Co2 as well. An estimate of 4 or 5 KH looks ball park. Gppd luck
Hardstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:35 AM   #22
auban
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 566
Default

i say just keep doing what you are doing. its working for a reason.
auban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012