Flourite w/ java ferns
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2013, 12:39 AM   #1
thedudeabides
Planted Member
 
thedudeabides's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 293
Default

Flourite w/ java ferns


Quick question, setting up a nano tank with java ferns, mosses and anubias all attached to rocks and driftwood. I have 2 options for substrate, I have left over flourite and eco complete gravel from another tank. My question is should I bother with the flourite or will it just lead to algae blooms.
thedudeabides is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2013, 12:43 AM   #2
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,258
Default

I don't see why adding Flourite would lead to an algal bloom?

You can use either substrate; whatever you think looks nicer.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:04 AM   #3
thedudeabides
Planted Member
 
thedudeabides's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 293
Default

Well would it benefit the plants at all if they arn't planted into the substrate? Will they assimilate the nutrients released into the water columb faster than algae would? My concern is that with all the plants being slow growing and not being planted in the substrate that it will cause an influx of nutrients in the water that might give algae a foothold.
thedudeabides is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:06 AM   #4
thedudeabides
Planted Member
 
thedudeabides's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 293
Default

I wanted to use the flourite just because its darker in color which I thought would make the CPO's pop a little more.
thedudeabides is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:02 AM   #5
Bubba Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 349
Default

yes Flourite Dark does make plants pop.
__________________
So a guy walks into a Pet Store

Guy: "I have Algae on my drift wood!"

Pet Clerk: "Take two Plecos and call me next week."



EHEIM Classic 2213
Check out my blog
tsturgeonblog.wordpress.com/
Bubba Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 03:12 AM   #6
crazydaz
Friggin. Conformist.
 
crazydaz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Posts: 1,336
Send a message via Skype™ to crazydaz
Default

Assuming that you keep your lighting "low" or "reasonable," you don't over feed or over fertilize, you shouldn't have any terrible algae issues, regardless of whichever substrate you choose. You will always have some, but most will be in the form of brush algae and GSA versus your nasty hair algae and cladophora.
__________________
Kinder. Goth.
crazydaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012