Setting up a Taiwan bee tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2013, 07:06 PM   #1
DUKENDABEARS
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DUKENDABEARS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (99/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 426
Default

Setting up a Taiwan bee tank


I'm setting up a 20 gallon long with new Amazonia substrate. I plan on using bt-9 , bio plus, old sea mud power under the substrate. It will have a lot of moss covered driftwood that is currently housed in my other tanks. There will be amazon frogbit floaters. i will be using ro water remineralized with salty shrimp bee GH. I will have a large air driven sponge filter on each end of the tank for filtration ( will this be enough?). I have a smaller aqua clear hob filter I can use as well if needed. Is there anything I'm missing that is an absolute must?
DUKENDABEARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2013, 07:37 PM   #2
randyl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,359
Default

Add the HOB in, and add at least 2 months of cycling/maturing time for the tank for better result. Do not rush things.
randyl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:03 PM   #3
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

You forgot patience!

I wouldn't add the HoB, only because I hate them, lol.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:07 PM   #4
DUKENDABEARS
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DUKENDABEARS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (99/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 426
Default

I was planning on giving it a month at least to cycle, grow biofilm etc. I'd prefer no hob filter if I don't need it.
DUKENDABEARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:22 PM   #5
randyl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,359
Default

It's up to you for the HOB, I'm not too sure if 2 sponge filters for a 20G tank will be enough or not. But I'd certainly love to know how it goes. I recommended it only because you have it, if no other filtration will be available I still think adding it is a good idea.

The two months I recommended includes the patience implicitly ;-)

PS: adding tons of moss does look good, but they become a problem when you need to net a specific shrimp from the tank. The one you try to catch is always THE ONLY ONE that will hide behind/under moss/DW.

PS 2: unless you use very little ADA or start with matured filter, I don't think 1 month cuts it for cycling ADA. I have a 10 G tank set up with ADS New Amazonia on December 13, and it's still leaching ammonia last night.
randyl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:40 PM   #6
Betta Maniac
Wanabe BKK Herder
 
Betta Maniac's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: IHella<3Oakland
Posts: 2,159
Default

I would plan on two months. It took my recent BKK tank 6+ weeks to fully cycle. Though I know some people seem to have different results.
__________________
Betta Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:46 PM   #7
DUKENDABEARS
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DUKENDABEARS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (99/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 426
Default

I have a mature hob filter on my 27 gallon cube with oebt and cherries, maybe ill set the other hob up on that, let it run for a week or so, then remove the mature filter and put it on the 20 gallon Taiwan bee tank. Maybe cut cycling down by a couple weeks.
DUKENDABEARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:52 PM   #8
randyl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUKENDABEARS View Post
I have a mature hob filter on my 27 gallon cube with oebt and cherries, maybe ill set the other hob up on that, let it run for a week or so, then remove the mature filter and put it on the 20 gallon Taiwan bee tank. Maybe cut cycling down by a couple weeks.
It's better if you transfer some media from the matured to the new while both maturing in the 27G. It will help both to be matured faster. Also, if your 27G's PH is much higher then 6 (where ADA will likely bring your new tank to), expect the bacteria to crash before taking off again. But it will still be faster than from brand new media for sure.
randyl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:08 PM   #9
DUKENDABEARS
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DUKENDABEARS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (99/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 426
Default

Yeah it's ph 7.0 in the oebt tank... I have a 8 gallon crs tank with Amazonia that's been running for about 4 months... Would it be very helpful to remove about 2-3 cups of substrate from that tank and mix it in? Or is that such a minimal amount it wouldn't really make a difference? It would end up being about 5% of the total substrate in the 20 gallon
DUKENDABEARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:13 PM   #10
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

Which Amazonia are you guys using? "New" Amazonia or "Amazonia" (the newest batch).

It took me 4 weeks to cycle and finished ammonia leech. I kept temperature to 82 for the whole month. I was using "new" Amazonia (an older batch).
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:42 PM   #11
DUKENDABEARS
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DUKENDABEARS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (99/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 426
Default

It's new Amazonia, is the regular Amazonia better?
DUKENDABEARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:59 PM   #12
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (103/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,180
Default

Give it 2 months be safe, I gave mine 2 months even though I had a fully cycled eheim 2215 I put on it... Better safe than sorry with these guys
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:17 PM   #13
DUKENDABEARS
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DUKENDABEARS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (99/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 426
Default

Thanks for all the input everyone
DUKENDABEARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012