Dead Can Dance’s First Shrimp Cube (& Freshwater Tank)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2013, 10:43 AM   #1
Dead Can Dance
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 70
Default

Dead Can Dance’s First Shrimp Cube (& Freshwater Tank)


Tank: Fluval Flora
Size: 30L Cube (30 x 30cm)
Filter: Eheim Aquacorner 60
Light: Up Aqua LED Pro LED Z Series
Soil: Amazonia II, Shrimp Stratum (I think)
Heater: Took it out, doesn’t seem to get cold ?
Plants: Pellia, Peacock moss, Java fern, HC (Waiting for it to die) & something else, I've forgotten what it's called.

I was attempting to use CO2 but had some problems now I'm just dosing Flourish Excel.


1. Started with CO2, background and Fluval filter;


I'll post some water results soon. I'm still too scared of killing any shrimp with bad water conditions.

2. It without CO2 and taken today;


Water parameters are currently;
Date: 4/3/13
PH: 7.6
Ammonia: 0-0:25
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 5

Water change ?
Dead Can Dance is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2013, 11:24 AM   #2
pwolfe
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US
Posts: 391
Default

one thing, that java fern will die the way it is currently planted. the rhizome, the part the leaves branch out from, can't be below the substrate. It needs to be tied down to something above the substrate line.
pwolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:36 AM   #3
Dead Can Dance
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 70
Default

Oh. Lol.
I might lose it then, I prefer the moss on the driftwood.
Dead Can Dance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:59 AM   #4
Barbgirl
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fort Knox
Posts: 401
Default

It can be placed in the substrate just make sure only the roots are planted, not the rhizome (the green stick like thing that all the leaves are coming from)
__________________
*I'm Barbbb girl, in a fishy world! No more plastic, It's fantastic!*

Last edited by Barbgirl; 03-04-2013 at 11:59 AM.. Reason: Spelling
Barbgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 03:03 AM   #5
parrottbay
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
parrottbay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 524
Default

Any updates?
parrottbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012