2 Canisters on a 50 gallon
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 02:39 AM   #1
dano1677
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default

2 Canisters on a 50 gallon


I currently have a 50 gallon tank, I just upgraded to a filstar xp3/Large. I wonder if it would hurt to add a Eheim Classic 2215 that I picked up used. Or would this be too much flow for a moderately planted aquarium?
dano1677 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 02:57 AM   #2
sarahspins
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 445
Default

I am running two fluval 306's on mine (I originally put the other one on so that it could get seeded and be ready to move to another tank, which I never set up) so I say not too much
sarahspins is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2013, 03:51 AM   #3
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 8,260
Default

I run the XP3 on several 45 gallon tanks, and I have added power heads for more water movement. Mostly the Koralia 4 (over 1000 gph). These are the older Koralias, when they first came out and only had about 4 models. I know the model numbers have changed.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2013, 08:08 AM   #4
TwoTacoCombo
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default

I have a 2217 and a 2213 on my 50 gal, and it's not enough flow. I have a Koralia 240 helping with circulation, but there are still dead/slow spots. If you can afford it, go big and dial it back to where you need it.
TwoTacoCombo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 12:08 AM   #5
WATduh
Planted Member
 
WATduh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 256
Send a message via Skype™ to WATduh
Default

I'm running two Fluval 405's on my 50g (36x18x18). The flow is fine and I actually have it scaled back quite a bit. One filter runs through a pvc reactor and then through an inline heater and then out of a spray bar. The other filter just runs directly to the tank and has the standard output nozzle.
__________________
50b Amazonian Biotype "Arroyo Negro"
Check my latest tank videos below:
http://youtu.be/zszx_5SNz2A
~02-28-2012 Update Video
http://youtu.be/c8_oODcp5Rs
~Dripping in New Otos
WATduh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 02:49 AM   #6
Pix4c
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 49
Default

I have xp3 on my 75, I don't know why you would want another filter the xp3 is awesome maybe ad a power head
Pix4c is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 02:55 AM   #7
jreich
Planted Tank Guru
 
jreich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 2,940
Default Re: 2 Canisters on a 50 gallon

If u want more flow, use what u have. I have a fluval 306, eheim 2213 and a big powerhead on my 40b.

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using Tapatalk 2
jreich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 03:02 AM   #8
WATduh
Planted Member
 
WATduh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 256
Send a message via Skype™ to WATduh
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pix4c View Post
I have xp3 on my 75, I don't know why you would want another filter the xp3 is awesome maybe ad a power head
If all you're concerned with is flow, then yes, add a circ. pump. If you want the added benefit of another filter + greater circulation, then add another filter. Adding the second filter was one of the best moves I've made with my aquarium and I wish I had done it sooner. It's good to be able to alternate maintenance between the two filters. It's also good to have a back-up in case the main filter goes down- you're not left without filtration.

I'm not super familiar with rena or eheim, but I can tell you that it's nice to have two of the same filter. All of the parts and components are easily interchangeable. I don't have to buy components for two different filters.
__________________
50b Amazonian Biotype "Arroyo Negro"
Check my latest tank videos below:
http://youtu.be/zszx_5SNz2A
~02-28-2012 Update Video
http://youtu.be/c8_oODcp5Rs
~Dripping in New Otos
WATduh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 03:02 AM   #9
Rcfan08
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 30
Default

You would need 2x Eheims that have a 17mm in AND out. I think even 2x2217s still wouldn't be enough flow for that tank.
Rcfan08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 03:55 AM   #10
dano1677
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default

I ended up putting the Eheim on my wife's cichlid tank. I bought a Fluval 306 on sale from PetSolutions ($96) ordered it Thursday late at night, it arrived Saturday morning (fedex). I put it on my tank with the xp3, flow is perfect, and it never hurts to have some redundancy.....

By the way I'm pretty impressed with both filters, the Fluval seems like a pretty solid addition.
dano1677 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012