Red Sea Drop Checker
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 09:41 PM   #1
jeffh110
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 15
Default

Red Sea Drop Checker


Starting out and someone recommended the Red Sea Drop checker, however I don't believe it to be accurate. Regardless of what I do with my CO2 it remains green, even after having no CO2 for a day or so. I did read in the instructions that it is only accurate for a KH>4, mine is between 1 and 2. If an upgrade is in order are there any recommendations or am I simply doing something wrong(not sure what it seems very simple)?

Thanks

Jeff
jeffh110 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2013, 09:43 PM   #2
sarahspins
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 445
Default

Are you using 4dkh solution in your drop checker? It won't work with tap or tank water.
sarahspins is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 09:47 PM   #3
jeffh110
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 15
Default Re: Red Sea Drop Checker

As per instructons 1ml of tank water then 2 drops of their solution.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Tapatalk 2
jeffh110 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 10:17 PM   #4
latchdan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
latchdan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paso Robles, Ca
Posts: 459
Default

You're going to have to buy a 4dkh solution or make one, if you make 1 it wont be as accurate

Last edited by latchdan; 03-01-2013 at 10:17 PM.. Reason: sp
latchdan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 11:34 PM   #5
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffh110 View Post
As per instructons 1ml of tank water then 2 drops of their solution.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Tapatalk 2
As mentioned, you will need to use 4 dkH reference solution. The instructions with most drop checkers can be ignored (you cannot use tank, tap, RO, DI, nor distilled water).
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2013, 01:35 AM   #6
jeffh110
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for the advice, so glad I took the plunge and went with a planted tank.
jeffh110 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2013, 01:49 AM   #7
paulrw
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
paulrw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: londonderry, new hampshire
Posts: 302
Send a message via Skype™ to paulrw
Default

i got the same drop checker, i've used bottled water( just cause i was drinking it any way) tank water,tap water, what evers handy. i've never had any problems. i turn the gas off it goes blue i turn it on it goes green leave it set to high right to yellow. i've moved three times in the past 2 years ive used myrtle beach city water hillsboro nh's poison city water and well water in londonderry nh. the drop checker is going to work if it turns the water blue when you put it in it will switch when the ph changes because thats all it is, is ph indicator. i would check else were check the c02 line for leaks make sure the c02 is being diffused properly and make sure your bubble count is high enough i run 1 bubble every 3 sec on a 2 gallon good luck

some other stats may be helpful. like is it diy co2 is it a mini disposable co2 set up a full tank, what size is your aquarium, lighting plays a roll to if your tank is well lit your plants may be utilizing the co2. i leave my gas on 24/7 on the same setting. at night before i turn my lights off the drop checker is almost blue, when i turn my lights on in the am the drop checker is almost yellow.

Last edited by paulrw; 03-02-2013 at 02:07 AM.. Reason: added stuff
paulrw is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012