my DIY CO2 reactor/diffuser for HOB filter
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 04:54 PM   #1
Sar315
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA MD
Posts: 21
Default

my DIY CO2 reactor/diffuser for HOB filter


I got tank with HOB filter, so inline CO2 reactor outside of tank is not possible.

I've tried different types of diffusers/reactors, they either take too much space in tank or create soda water.

Finally I tried obvious solution - reactor that uses already available water flow from outlet of HOB filter.

Design should be clear from pictures - it is a L shaped box with small hole
in a long side so that water goes but CO2 injected from below doesn't bubble through it.

Size of hole should be individually adjusted for particular filter.
If hole is too small water will overflow from top of reactor.
If hole is too big CO2 will bubble trough it.


Reactor is made from acrylic, glued with superglue and silicone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	reactor_only.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	35.5 KB
ID:	96154  

Click image for larger version

Name:	reactor_and_hob.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	141.1 KB
ID:	96162  

Sar315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 06:36 PM   #2
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,496
Default

I had issues with bell style diffusers, do you get a good dissolve rate or does it burp off gasses often?

I think I would want my input closer to the bottom so fine bubbles are forced to flow through more moving water.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:56 PM   #3
Sar315
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA MD
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steven p View Post
I had issues with bell style diffusers, do you get a good dissolve rate or does it burp off gasses often?

I think I would want my input closer to the bottom so fine bubbles are forced to flow through more moving water.
No CO2 doesn't burp through at all. Trick is to make hole for water small enough to prevent it and big enough to go through without overflowing from top.

Yes I agree about moving input port to the bottom.
I am doing new version right now.

Another change would be to make long side of the box much narrower.
It doesn't make any sense to have it thick as it is now, it just takes space
Sar315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:34 PM   #4
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

Sweeeet!

How about putting tubing ports at the bottom instead of squared exit?

That way you disperse it via tubing to dense, planted sections of tank.
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 06:44 AM   #5
Sar315
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA MD
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirstoND View Post
Sweeeet!

How about putting tubing ports at the bottom instead of squared exit?

That way you disperse it via tubing to dense, planted sections of tank.
I am not sure, long tube might create too much back pressure and reactor will overflow
Sar315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 11:23 PM   #6
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sar315 View Post
I am not sure, long tube might create too much back pressure and reactor will overflow

Will adding a snorkel tube with one-way plastic check valve help?
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 11:58 PM   #7
Sar315
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA MD
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirstoND View Post
Will adding a snorkel tube with one-way plastic check valve help?
Outflow of filter is only 1 inch above water level in aquarium.
Filter is open on top and there is no pressure in the system.
Anything that significantly restricts water flow in reactor will
cause it or filter to overflow.

Long tubes, check valves etc will create too much restriction.

This is the biggest problem of this system. You need to adjust water hole
in reactor to make it big enough to let water flow trough without causing overflow, but small enough to prevent CO2 from burping though it.
Sar315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 06:30 AM   #8
mfurufuru
Planted Member
 
mfurufuru's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: oahu
Posts: 243
Default Re: my DIY CO2 reactor/diffuser for HOB filter

Can you post as YouTube video of it in action?
mfurufuru is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 01:53 AM   #9
Sar315
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA MD
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfurufuru View Post
Can you post as YouTube video of it in action?
Please see new version of reactor with video here

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...46#post2818746
Sar315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012