My take on a CO2 Reactor
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2013, 11:43 PM   #1
VAtanks
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: VA BCH
Posts: 235
Default

My take on a CO2 Reactor


Click image for larger version

Name:	0221131937.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	91594

So my inline diff failed today so its prompted me to DIY another fish tank item then go through the hassle of ordering....waiting.....installing....only to have another thing fail. SO here is my DIY reactor.

2ft- 1.5" schd 40 PVC
2-1 1/2" to 3/4" male thread
2-3/4" union to a 3/4"x 1/2 barb
1- brass nipple.

10 fluval bio media broken into chunks and tossed in the reactor to bang around cause some turbulance.
__________________
29g Tetra Tank
100g Planted Angel/Clown Loach
I can't spell...Im an engineer, I do math
VAtanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
latchdan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
latchdan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paso Robles, Ca
Posts: 431
Default

So how is it working? Appears like the co2 inlet is a little low and would seem like the head pressure would just push it out the bottom?
latchdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:48 AM   #3
Bandit1200
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Bandit1200's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by latchdan View Post
So how is it working? Appears like the co2 inlet is a little low and would seem like the head pressure would just push it out the bottom?

that's what I was thinking. Maybe a larger diameter pipe would cut down on the speed of the water flowing through.
Bandit1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:59 PM   #4
VAtanks
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: VA BCH
Posts: 235
Default

on the back side of the brass barb is a bubble wall rope and I filled the chamber with biomax that was broken up into pieces....but yeah I would say over all this is a fail. Still have bubbles inside the tank, might as well have a diffuser inside the tank. I built it to be compact and slowed the flow of the 205 its hooked to but it really didn't matter, on the up side when hooked up to my air pump and a time it worked good to oxygenate during off CO2 hours...to bad that wasn't what I was going for
__________________
29g Tetra Tank
100g Planted Angel/Clown Loach
I can't spell...Im an engineer, I do math
VAtanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:42 PM   #5
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (35/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 882
Default

what you should have done is add a air stone plastic is better so co2 doesnt break it down like the stone one does... and place it into the reactor where the co2 goes into so that when co2 is entering the reactor it will be small bubbles and can be broken down by the flow of water going into the reactor better and much faster....
Bryanmc1988 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:41 PM   #6
VAtanks
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: VA BCH
Posts: 235
Default

yeah I had it all wrong. Had the water entering the bottom with the CO2, and leaving the top, should have had water in the top and out the bottom, live and learn.....
__________________
29g Tetra Tank
100g Planted Angel/Clown Loach
I can't spell...Im an engineer, I do math
VAtanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:50 PM   #7
fishtrap61
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Default

Turn the reactor upside down and reconnect the hoses, it should be fine then.
fishtrap61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:09 PM   #8
VAtanks
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: VA BCH
Posts: 235
Default

direction of the pipe is what i wanted...CO2 gas rising to the top to meet water flowing down...I just didnt hook it up that way, I never gave it a thought that the co2 would be pushed out with the water if flowing bottom to top together. I had the pieces all together correctly just my application was wrong..once I swapped the flow coming in the top and leaving the bottom it worked, so, so too much flow and not enough square inches of water to disperse the gass
__________________
29g Tetra Tank
100g Planted Angel/Clown Loach
I can't spell...Im an engineer, I do math
VAtanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012