Will there be a high amount of ammonia after dirting a tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
I3raven
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 422
Default

Will there be a high amount of ammonia after dirting a tank?


After dirting a tank, will the ammonia levels be high after the first day? I'm talking about just starting a tank, and this is a general question.
I3raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-21-2013, 08:16 PM   #2
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

The reading will climb the second or third day if it's going spike for the most part. Using MGOCPM for over a dozen dirt tanks only two tested ammonia or cycle spikes.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 03:41 PM   #3
I3raven
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkndracer View Post
The reading will climb the second or third day if it's going spike for the most part. Using MGOCPM for over a dozen dirt tanks only two tested ammonia or cycle spikes.
Are the readings going to be stabilized after a week?
I3raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 07:35 PM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,476
Default

Some soils take as long as a month to settle down.

There are many microorganisms in soils. Some adapt to living under water very well, and multiply. Some die, releasing ammonia and other things. If you are starting with garden soil, make sure you can give it a month for the microorganisms to make this adjustment.

Packaged soils also go through a similar process, but often they are sterilized so they start with no microorganisms. The bacteria, fungi and so on start growing once the product is under water, and this can take a few days for the fastest species, but more like a month for the slower species. Since they are all working together and the system is changing as the population changes, I would still give it a month to settle in. You can do the fishless cycle during this period, and have the new tank ready for the fish.

If your goal is to change over an established tank, then I would set up the soil in a shallow container of water and circulate the water, and test it to see if it will be releasing ammonia. If so, keep it in that container, water circulating, to get it ready for the aquarium.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:05 AM   #5
cpeterson9
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: so cal
Posts: 18
Default

I used MiracleGro Organic Potting soil and only saw a small spike the third day. Other than that the water has been perfect.
cpeterson9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:53 PM   #6
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I3raven View Post
Are the readings going to be stabilized after a week?
you probably won't even see ammonia readings setup correctly
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:11 PM   #7
I3raven
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkndracer View Post
you probably won't even see ammonia readings setup correctly
Alright thanks.
I3raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012