Worth dirting an old tank.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2013, 01:32 AM   #1
rustbucket
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Default

Worth dirting an old tank.


Question, is it worth it to dirt a tank that has been set up for almost a year?

Its a high tech, ei dosed tank, I wanted to go dirt but when I set it up didn't have the time, now I'm regretting it.

I don't mind tearing down the tank, taking out the fish, won't take that long. But will it be worth it in the end?

I currently have play sand, and root tabs, my melon sword has flowered, so obviously my root feeders aren't really suffering, but I wanna do it, just not sure about it.

Dirt people chime in
rustbucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-21-2013, 04:31 AM   #2
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

Well why exactly would you wanna do it? It's going to leach ammonia for a while when you initially get it in water so consider that - try soaking it for a week or two prior to planting. Also it took me 2 hours yesterday to tear down, dirt, and replant a 10 gallon (and I've done it many times). Also consider the dirtiness, moving plants is a pain and is messy. Also consider your cap (I suggest fluorite).
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:35 PM   #3
rustbucket
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Default

Thanks, I have considered all that and decided to go with it. A couple of my plants seem like they could use an extra boost.

I will cap with play sand, have other tanks with it and no problems so far
rustbucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:50 PM   #4
Margo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berkeley
Posts: 10
Default

I did a little experiment with walstad bowls - the one with the more dirt had nicer plants and no alge a year later. Worth it in the long run
Margo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:12 PM   #5
rustbucket
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Default

Thank you!!

I have a smaller tank that I never dose, or rarely even touch and it is doing great with dirt, so I am hoping it does as well in this tank.
rustbucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:52 PM   #6
Monster Fish
Planted Tank Guru
 
Monster Fish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,862
Default

It depends on what you want to grow. Crypts, swords, and other root feeders will love dirt tanks. Stems will like dirt as well but constant replanting of them might cause a mess. If you like to constantly rescape, dirt tanks aren't the best choice.
__________________
5.5 gallon grass tank|5.5 gallon Rili tank
RAOK Club #77|The Fraternity of Dirt #112
Monster Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:33 PM   #7
rustbucket
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Default

Thanks

I have a big mix of stems and root feeders.

I don't rescape so much as replant my stems, ie trim the top and push into the soil. I do have tweezers so I am hoping that makes it less messy to work in the dirt?
rustbucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:32 AM   #8
Freyr
Algae Grower
 
Freyr's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustbucket View Post
Thanks

I have a big mix of stems and root feeders.

I don't rescape so much as replant my stems, ie trim the top and push into the soil. I do have tweezers so I am hoping that makes it less messy to work in the dirt?
Tweezers are what I use in my dirt tank, really helps with the stem plants. If you plan to do a lot of uprooting, put your siphon near the base of the plant and you'll catch the excess dirt before it gets into the water column. Not too hard to rescape a dirt tank unless the plants have grown extensive roots.
__________________
20 gal dirted community, 20 long Vietnamese mudskippers, 40 gal tanganyikan cichlids, 55 gal South American cichlids
3 gal opae ula shrimp cube, 8 gal Fluval Ebi
Freyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 01:54 PM   #9
rustbucket
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Default

Thanks for the tip
rustbucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:21 PM   #10
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

If it isn't broken don't fix it.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 05:31 PM   #11
rustbucket
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Default

Why settle??
rustbucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:29 PM   #12
snausage
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (29/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,167
Default

The point of a dirt substrate is so you don't have to do things like ei dosing.....
snausage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012