Replacing 125g tank, need input.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 12:26 AM   #1
jstehman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
jstehman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LaVista, NE
Posts: 435
Default

Replacing 125g tank, need input.


So I'm replacing my 125 because the rim split the other day. I have been playing email tag with Marineland about this.

1. They told after sending pics of the crack that some silicone should work to repair it. Hell to the no. I told them that would not work, and that I wanted a new tank. Been 24 hours and have not heard anything back.

2. If (and when) they decide to send me a replacement, what do I do with my fish? Last head count there's 50.

I have one 10gal and one 20g tank that are being cycled right now.. but I also have 200lbs of gravel in there. Plus many many plants.

Should I grab a 55gallon trash can and put my gravel and 1/2 the tank water in there with a canister hooked up?
__________________
Never show anyone your true potential. If you do, they will always expect it.
jstehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-22-2013, 12:28 AM   #2
pmcarbrey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: kansas
Posts: 536
Default

Why are you so worried about a cracked rim? If there is no damage to the glass and the center brace is fine you have nothing to worry about.
pmcarbrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:55 AM   #3
jstehman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
jstehman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LaVista, NE
Posts: 435
Default

I'm not ok with the possibility of all that water on my basement floor. And dead fishes.

Plus I did not spend $xxx for a tank with a cracked rim. Especially when they have a warranty. I bought this tank in May. I expected it to last a wee bit longer without issue...
__________________
Never show anyone your true potential. If you do, they will always expect it.
jstehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 01:04 AM   #4
jstehman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
jstehman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LaVista, NE
Posts: 435
Default

Plus they told me "The integrity of the tank is compromised so drain out some of the water to relieve pressure"

Sounds like there's a problem to me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5701.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	101.4 KB
ID:	91650  


Last edited by jstehman; 02-22-2013 at 01:18 AM.. Reason: add pic
jstehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 01:35 AM   #5
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,495
Default

I'd be a little irate as well.. that tank is just a baby.. At least it didn't explode already.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 01:43 AM   #6
pmcarbrey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: kansas
Posts: 536
Default

Upper rim cracks are no problem, if you want this an excuse to go rimless, I've seen a 200g where all that was done is the top rim was cut off and glass supports were put on where the old ones were. If you do replace it via warranty I would check the terms, you may have to pay for shipping of the new tank/shipping of return of the old.
pmcarbrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:25 AM   #7
jstehman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
jstehman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LaVista, NE
Posts: 435
Default

The situation will be resolved.

In the meantime, I am looking for suggestions as how to transition the inhabitants.

Is it possible to keep the tank "cycled" by transferring the substrate and filtration into a temporary holding device? While keeping the filters and heater running in said container.
__________________
Never show anyone your true potential. If you do, they will always expect it.
jstehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:29 PM   #8
farrenator
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 269
Default

I don't see why the tank wouldn't continue to be cycled. The substrate, plants and filter material are where the bacteria grow/live so if you keep these going together you will be fine.


If you have the time just catch all the fish, put them in a container with the plants and the heater and filter, transfer the substrate over to the new tank, plant it, transfer over the filter, run it until it is clear, then transfer over the fish. BUT, I would try and keep 50% of the old tank water and transfer that over to the new tank to help minimize any shock to the fish.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstehman View Post
The situation will be resolved.

In the meantime, I am looking for suggestions as how to transition the inhabitants.

Is it possible to keep the tank "cycled" by transferring the substrate and filtration into a temporary holding device? While keeping the filters and heater running in said container.
farrenator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:07 PM   #9
jstehman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
jstehman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LaVista, NE
Posts: 435
Default

^ Just what I was thinking.


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
__________________
Never show anyone your true potential. If you do, they will always expect it.
jstehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012