How much flourite do i need for my 55 gallon?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 12:55 AM   #1
TheFisherOfCichlids1
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Il
Posts: 237
Default

How much flourite do i need for my 55 gallon?


So i am wondering how much flourite do i need for my 55 gallon tank? I am putting it under my current gravel, so i was thinking maybe an inch of the flourite and some gravel on top. I read the bag (15 pounds) and it said it was good for 2 inches but im putting gravel on top so i figured its different. Plus i figured i would come across the problem of my flourite being a different color than my gravel and thought what happens when i vacuum my gravel with my gravel vac wont the two mix together to make a weird color since the gravel is on top of the flourite, how can i avoid that?
TheFisherOfCichlids1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-22-2013, 01:17 AM   #2
mistahoo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
mistahoo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston,Tx
Posts: 747
Default

Isn't there a calculator on here for that?
mistahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 01:22 AM   #3
owens81jw
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 686
Default

If you only want 1 inch, I'll say 2 bags will give u 1in for your 55 gallon
owens81jw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 01:25 AM   #4
mach_six
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North NJ
Posts: 660
Default

There's one on Seachem's site!

http://www.seachem.com/Products/prod.../Flourite.html
mach_six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:25 AM   #5
punctatus
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 28
Default

I used 3 bags for my 50
__________________
Hardware: 50 Gallon SeaClear, Eheim 2213 canister, 5lb auto CO2, Seachem Flourite, Eco Complete, 100 watts of T5HO.
Software: Fish, plants, research.
punctatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:30 AM   #6
k2x5
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 20
Default

Local One

I use it quite often, several options as well.
__________________
- k2x5
---------------------------------------------------------
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/yo...o=view&id=3865
k2x5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:32 AM   #7
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html

According to this, a 48X12.5X3" volume is 62 pounds, or about 4 bags.

Here's the other calc I regularly use, which doesn't have Flourite but *does* have AquaSoil:
http://mizuworld.com/index.php/pages/calculator

They more or less agree on the substrates they have in common.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012