American Marine Pinpoint pH Monitor questions
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 02:59 PM   #1
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,607
Default

American Marine Pinpoint pH Monitor questions


OKay, I *think* I've decided to go with the American Marine Pinpoint pH Monitor, however I have some questions.

1) Does the probe always have to be kept wet? If so does it have to be in some special solution? Do I just buy a cup and keep it in that?

2) Does it have to be recalibrated every time I move it from freshwater sample water to freshwater sample water? Ie. Sample tank 1, Sample tank 2, etc?

__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2013, 03:10 PM   #2
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Yes the probe must remain wet.
Mine simply stay in one of the tanks.

forgot (sorry) I recalibrate about twice a year.
Reference solutions are fairly cheap but after almost 4 yrs using a couple units I rarely see drift or slow response time shifts.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:16 PM   #3
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,607
Default

I don't have to recalibrate from tank to tank right? 'Cause I may test 25 tanks in a day.
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:45 PM   #4
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soothing Shrimp View Post
I don't have to recalibrate from tank to tank right? 'Cause I may test 25 tanks in a day.
nope! recal without a probe change is rare. if you like once a month or so just check against one of the 4 or 7 solutions until youíre comfortable that it's holding without drift. If you donít drop it or tweak the pots it should hold settings just fine.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:48 PM   #5
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,072
Default

It takes 5-10 min per tank to settle down the readings. You can buy cleaning solution and buffers to calibrate after cleaning. It is good sensor to be cleaned every 6 months to keep meter resize readings.
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:51 PM   #6
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,607
Default

OKay. This is the one I'm gonna go with then. Thanks!
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:21 PM   #7
SBPyro
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melrose, MA
Posts: 443
Default I develop similar products

The lab use of pH electrodes, generally recommend calibrating prior to use. (Before taking readings of sample). No need to recal between samples. Do let the value stablize otherwise you can be reading drift (up to 5 minutes depending on electrode and sample matrix.). Keep the electrode stored in storage solution.
Just be aware the stds do expire so don't buy too much. The other thing bout glass pH electrodes is over time the glass resistance increases (electrode will go bad eventually). This can be accelerated by keeping in hot environment (50ļC is the max that any of the processes to assemble them.)
SBPyro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:35 PM   #8
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,607
Default

Good to know. Thanks.
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 06:54 PM   #9
dastowers
Algae Grower
 
dastowers's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East Liverpool, OH
Posts: 137
Default

I use them on my tanks. Awesome to test multiple tanks with.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 115
dastowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012