10g Revive
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 02:12 AM   #1
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

10g Revive


So as some of you may know I'm going to try and revive my 10g. I've never dosed anything I just put the plants in the tank and they either grew slowly and grew algae on them or they died. So I'm going to try and revive what I have left. I'm going to increase my photoperiod to 2 x 4 hour split photoperiod, dosing flourish excel/comprehensive, and root tab's.

Here are pic's from Day 1 of the revive.









Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 03:23 AM   #2
Sea_Of_Treachery
Algae Grower
 
Sea_Of_Treachery's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 39
Default

not sure your plants will do so hot with that substrate.....you may want to at least add some laterite or go for an actual planted substrate. what are you running for lights?
__________________
Current Tanks:
20g low light planted
15g mixed reef
5g ecopico reef
Sea_Of_Treachery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:17 AM   #3
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

Yea, I plan on switching substrate in about a week. What's the best way to do it without harming the roots of the plant's?

As for light I'm running 2 x 13watt 6500k CFL's, Which i'm currently looking for some that are around 15 watt's each that fit my hood.
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:53 PM   #4
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

No substrate switch yet but so far I've seen excellent growth.

This was taken around 2:40 today


4 hour's later, the bud has grow 3-4 inches!


The leave's on this plant were full of algae and I didn't think it was going to grow but it did! Should I leave the plant alone or cut the new growth off and get rid of the old growth?


New plantlet from my chainsword
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:17 PM   #5
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

Everything is doing so much better, the chainsword has produced 4 new full plants and now 2 plantlets. The Apontogeans are flowering like crazy everyday I have a new flower. The Compact Hygro is also doing great I i'm getting my first side shoot on it!

Thanks again and pictures to come ASAP!
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:01 AM   #6
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

UPDATED PIC'S:

I removed all of the algae covered old leaves.


The chainsword is doing great!


I'm going to redo my substrate and I'm thinking eco-complete, flourite, or CaribSea floramax.

What substrate do you guy's recommend in a planted tank?
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:53 AM   #7
Mantis992
Algae Grower
 
Mantis992's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 124
Default

If you can get ADA Amazonia it works really well, but nutrient enriched substrates like eco complete will be a huge step up from what you currently have.
Mantis992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:54 AM   #8
Mantis992
Algae Grower
 
Mantis992's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 124
Default

P.S I had some problems with using the floramax before so I would try to get the eco complete.
Mantis992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:58 AM   #9
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

I'll look into that.

Anyone else want to chime in?
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:31 PM   #10
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

QUESTION:

So I went on vacation for three days and had my lights on the normal times but I wasn't dosing ferts and now I have green spot and hair algae. Is the cause of the algae because I stopped dosing frets, or what caused it and what can I do to get rid of it?
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:31 PM   #11
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

I AM AN IDIOT, I AM S/T/U/P/I/D!

Well I dose excel, prime, etc. with a 1ml syringe for my small tanks so I don't overdose. So I go on dosing and I guess I misread the bottle's or did the math wrong, IDK, but I've been dosing 0.1ml of flourish excel into my 10g! and 0.2ml into my 20g! Just had to show how anyone, no matter how long you've been in the hobby, can make a mistake!
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:40 PM   #12
JeffHerr
Algae Grower
 
JeffHerr's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 101
Default 10g Revive

Here's a note about Excel...

Tom Barr (PlantBrain) suggested I dose Excel at a level of 5ml/10gal daily. Yes, daily! Now, I have a pretty heavily planted tank, but my growth has exploded!!! He doesn't recommend going any higher, but my 55 gal is proof that at 5ml/10gal, it works great.
I'd build up to that amount though.

Oh, and I use metracide 14 and adjust by 60% of the Excel dose.

Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361317125.971605.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  26.0 KB
JeffHerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:15 PM   #13
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

Thanks, I need to do an updated pic once my plants come in. I sold all of the apontogeans on the right, I kept one, and I'm getting some endlers live bearer and a bunch of new plants.
Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:27 PM   #14
Aulonocara_Freak
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aulonocara_Freak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 513
Default

Here's some updated pic's!





Aulonocara_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012