Question about pumps
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2003, 04:33 PM   #1
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

When I use my Python to suck the gunk out of my big tank I have to constantly back flush it due to it clogging.

I decided to rig up a pump thinks that the pump would act as a garbage disposal and chew the gunk up, spit it out and keep on going. The problem I ran into was I could not get the pump (a Rio 1700) to prime with the hoses hooked up. I tried with the pump in a sink and with the pump in the tank and it would not prime either way. If I removed the intake hose, it would prime instantly but when I put the hose back on it would reduce the output to a trickle and in a short time it would stop completely.

the length of the hoses is about 10 ft. each (intake and output). I would think this pump could push water thru 10 ft of hose as it's a pretty powerful pump. I really have no idea why I couldn't get this to work.

btw: The "gunk" I'm referring to is some kind of algae (yet to be identified) that this tank produces in commercial quantities. I'm thinking of tearing the tank down and starting over but even if I do, I'll need some way to get this gunk out.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2003, 09:03 PM   #2
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Will the pump move water with a shorter output hose?

I am thinking the RIO 1700 does not have 10ft Head. That could be why the water trickles out and then stops.

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2003, 09:13 PM   #3
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Momotaro
Will the pump move water with a shorter output hose?

I am thinking the RIO 1700 does not have 10ft Head. That could be why the water trickles out and then stops.

Mike
Sounds like you're pretty close on this...

My suggestion would be to splice the pump into the middle of the python somewhere, maybe just after the tank. This way the pump is sitting in the middle so the syphon presure of the water existing the tank is helping the pump push the water back up to the sink.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2003, 12:12 AM   #4
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

Thanks. I'll try shorting the hoses and using a bucket instead of running it outside. I'd rather not do it this way but it looks like I have no choice.

I always thought that "head" was the distance straight up a pump can move water. Is it just the length of the hose ?

Momotaro, if I pull the hose off the intake, it will instantly pump like mad so yes, the hose is the culprit.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about quarentine? vlh Fish 2 08-19-2004 07:55 PM
Ehiem and CO2 Question jahysun Equipment 19 08-16-2004 11:53 PM
question on CO2 needs pglenn Fertilizers and Water Parameters 11 08-16-2004 05:52 PM
Milwaukee sm101 question jart Equipment 2 07-31-2004 02:38 AM
Nitrate Test Kit Question nexstar General Planted Tank Discussion 2 06-24-2004 02:15 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012