48 x 18 x 18 High Tech Rimless Build (photo heavy) - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 02:26 AM   #31
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Its a few years old now and pretty worn. If it was something worth saving I would but id rather start with a fresh one.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2013, 03:09 AM   #32
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

More goodies:

This is an Active L Splitter. The Simu Spots draw power from the L Ports on the profilux, as such you can only run a single Simu per jack on the Profilux (each simu uses 2 L Ports, each Jack contains 2 L ports). The other thing to consider is that only Ports L1L2 and L3L4 will send the signal for a lightning flash.

I want to run 4 Simu spots, so thats where this thing comes in handy. You plug this in to a single L Jack (L1L2 in this case) and it will power up to 4 Simu's through this splitter. The dimming curve will be the same for all 4 Simu's, but I can program each simu to react to Lightning independently.



This is an EVG Control board. This is an interface that allows you to connect 0-10V dimmable Ballasts or LED drivers to the L Ports on your Profilux. You supply 110V power to the terminals on the right side, then connect the power leads to your drivers. This device will turn off power to the drivers on a 0V signal via the relays on the board. The dimming signal leads are connected to teh termal block on the lower left. There are two channels. The smaller terminal block in the upper left is for the interface cable that connects to an L Jack on a Profilux or Expansion Box.



These little boxes are the Fan speed controllers. Like the previous devices pictured above, you connect these to the L ports on a Profilux. As the profilux sends a 0-10V signal, these will vary the voltage from 0-12V to the fans. You must supply the 12V via an external power supply (not shown here).



I have a few of these, and will be making use of two. These are the fan headers that will allow me to connect my LED cooling fans to the Propellor Control modules pictured above. The net result of these will be the Profilux controlling the speed of the fans based on LED intensity. This way the fans will not be very loud unless the LED's are really cranked up pretty high.

GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:41 AM   #33
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkookm View Post
Curious to see what you come up with here.

Just found myself doodling and have a rough idea of what to build. First draft stuff here, will do up an actual 3D drawing before ordering my parts.


Side and front view:



Parts:



Rough idea of what it would look like:

GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:43 AM   #34
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

The "Tubing Bracket in the sketches is this thing:

GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:50 AM   #35
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

The box will actually be taller then the sketch so I can put a top on it to hide the tubes and probe leads. The bottom will be open to allow water movement. Should be easy to build with some pre cut pieces and a little time with a dremel for the tank hanging bracket
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:40 AM   #36
mrkookm
Wannabe Guru
 
mrkookm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,593
Default 48 x 18 x 18 High Tech Rimless Build (photo heavy)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDominy View Post
Just found myself doodling and have a rough idea of what to build. First draft stuff here, will do up an actual 3D drawing before ordering my parts.


Side and front view:



Parts:



Rough idea of what it would look like:

Why not make or mod a bracket similar to the dosing pump feed lines and mount the probes exposed? I think that would be a clean tech look over having a box inside the tank.

Something like this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361183952.590139.jpg
Views:	794
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	89522



from my iP 5 via Tapa.
__________________



The Junkie
mrkookm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:00 AM   #37
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default 48 x 18 x 18 High Tech Rimless Build (photo heavy)

Where'd you get that tank? That's an awesome size.
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:02 PM   #38
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkookm View Post
Why not make or mod a bracket similar to the dosing pump feed lines and mount the probes exposed? I think that would be a clean tech look over having a box inside the tank.

Something like this:

Attachment 89522



from my iP 5 via Tapa.
Thats a slick looking probe holder. If I can find one similar I would totally go that route. Eshopps makes a magnetic one I was considering
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:03 PM   #39
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l8nite View Post
Where'd you get that tank? That's an awesome size.
Custom made locally by a company called seastar/h2o
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:05 AM   #40
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Well.. I decided against building something. I'm way too lazy to custom make something like that right now given the enormous task I have ahead of me for setting this thing up.

I did however find a nice magnetic probe holder on my way home from work today:



This should do nicely
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 03:31 AM   #41
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Im glad I own a dremel. I went to test fit my probes, and much to my dismay, this holder didn't have the right size holes.

Ten minutes with my dremel however, and they work like a charm!



(I haven't cleaned my probes yet, I have to give them a good soak and clean)

Last edited by GDominy; 02-19-2013 at 07:18 PM.. Reason: spelling.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 02:49 PM   #42
mrkookm
Wannabe Guru
 
mrkookm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDominy View Post
Im glad I own a dremel. I went to test fit my probes, and much to my display, this holder didn't have the right size holes.

Ten minutes with my dremel however, and they work like a charm!



(I haven't cleaned my probes yet, I have to give them a good soak and clean)
Now I am definitely feelin that! Where did you find it, how much? Also, have you verified that the magnetism will not affect readings?
__________________



The Junkie
mrkookm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 03:22 PM   #43
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Ive never had magnetism affect readings, but stray voltage will if you dont have a grounded power supply.

Ill be able to test later. Tonight I am tackling programming to get the profilux ready
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 03:27 PM   #44
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkookm View Post
Now I am definitely feelin that! Where did you find it, how much? Also, have you verified that the magnetism will not affect readings?
I found it at a local reef shop. Im pretty sure some of the sponsors carry them. I can't recall what model it is but it's made by vertex. Before modifying it would only take 13mm probes. After dremelling it takes 15mm.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 03:28 PM   #45
mrkookm
Wannabe Guru
 
mrkookm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDominy View Post
I found it at a local reef shop. Im pretty sure some of the sponsors carry them. I can't recall what model it is but it's made by vertex. Before modifying it would only take 13mm probes. After dremelling it takes 15mm.
Good enough..thx
__________________



The Junkie
mrkookm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012