anacharis
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2013, 07:01 PM   #1
latchdan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
latchdan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paso Robles, Ca
Posts: 423
Default

anacharis


Just picked up some anacharis to suck up some nutrients, should I leave this plant floating or in the substrate? Can't find any info on the plant profile.

It was sold as a floating plant but I see it in the substrate in pictures. I want this thing to suck up excess nutrients but I also don't want it to choke out the other plants floating.
latchdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2013, 07:33 PM   #2
GMYukonon24s
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 3,123
Default

Mainly its up to you. I have let it float and other times I stick it in the substrate.
__________________
110g Tropical Community & Sakura Shrimp
55g BN Breeding Grounds, Peacock Gudgeons, Panda, Pygmies, & Smudge Spot Cories, Rili Shrimp
10g RCS and show guppies

MIAPG - Come join us - Plantedtank - MI - Greatlakesaquaria
GMYukonon24s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:05 PM   #3
latchdan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
latchdan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paso Robles, Ca
Posts: 423
Default

I've only had experience with a couple floating plants ricca and hornwort and they both grow faster floating then held down is that true for anacharis as well?
latchdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:19 PM   #4
newms
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by latchdan View Post
I've only had experience with a couple floating plants ricca and hornwort and they both grow faster floating then held down is that true for anacharis as well?
The anacharis will grow faster floating at the surface because it's closer to the light.

In my experience, anacharis can look pretty good rooted down in the substrate. However, the lower leaves on the stalk tended to rot away on most of the ones I planted. Also, I remember having a tough time keeping them down in the substrate until they rooted themselves. Hope this helps.
newms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:32 PM   #5
BBradbury
Wannabe Guru
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,376
Default Anacharis

Quote:
Originally Posted by latchdan View Post
Just picked up some anacharis to suck up some nutrients, should I leave this plant floating or in the substrate? Can't find any info on the plant profile.

It was sold as a floating plant but I see it in the substrate in pictures. I want this thing to suck up excess nutrients but I also don't want it to choke out the other plants floating.
Hello latch...

Good choice of plants for your tank. There's not a plant available that does more good things for the water than Anacharis (Waterweed) or as the oldtimers called it "Elodea densa". This plant is a nutrient hog and will grow as fast as there's available food and decent light.

I like to float it. This way, all the leaves are close to the light source. This plant uses extra nutrients in the water and also gives off a natural antibotic that will control algae growth. I have it floating in all my planted tanks and have no visible algae in them.

I'd recommend growing a lot of it, especially in larger tanks.

B
__________________
"Fear not my child, just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:10 PM   #6
latchdan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
latchdan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paso Robles, Ca
Posts: 423
Default

So for some reason this plant just isn't growing. From the bunch I originally purchsed I now only have about 1/3 of it (just 3 stems about 5 inches long) Every time I plant it it just rots right at the substrate level. I would just plant around 3 stems together so light could reach the bottoms.

I've now uprooted every piece and they are just drifting around the tank, although the filters are pushing them down and they are just stuck around my other plants. Whats the deal?

Oh, and they don't produce any roots, I'm not sure if they are suppose to or not.

Last edited by latchdan; 03-04-2013 at 09:12 PM.. Reason: adding
latchdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012