T5 lighting for 6'x2'x2' *trouble shooting*
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2013, 06:25 PM   #1
crowndroyal
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: sarnia
Posts: 37
Default

T5 lighting for 6'x2'x2' *trouble shooting*


Hey guys I bought myself a T5 fixture from work as they bought a skid full to replace a bunch of old lighting. They are a 6' fixture with 4 bulbs.


I can not hang the light above the tank as I have no place to hang from that's suitable, So it would have to be placed ontop of the glass.

Need to know what wattage and bulbs to buy that will be best for showing the color of my cichlids Demasoni and chilumba. I will latter be growing some moss in the tank as well.

All the help will be appreciated.

Last edited by crowndroyal; 02-18-2013 at 03:35 PM.. Reason: changed title
crowndroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2013, 06:24 AM   #2
crowndroyal
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: sarnia
Posts: 37
Default

also looking for how I can set this fixture up to have each light on a timer.
crowndroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:06 PM   #3
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,782
Default

You didn't provide enough information to get a good answer. A T5 light could be a normal output (HE high efficiency output) or it could be a high output HO. The ballast determines which it is. It could have no reflectors, just white painted housing, or a very good, well shaped, polished aluminum reflector for each bulb. It could have a ballast for each bulb, every 2 bulbs, or all of the bulbs on one ballast. Exactly what do you have?
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:32 AM   #4
crowndroyal
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: sarnia
Posts: 37
Default

ok well here is all the info on the box.


company is Lithonia Lighting

it is I-Beam ibz florescent high bay

T5HO

it has 1 ballast in side from what I see

a centium ICN-4554-90C-2LS-G from philips.

there is 4 46" 54w bulbs each bulb has what looks to be chromed aluminum reflectors.

is that enough info ?
crowndroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:48 AM   #5
herns
Planted Tank Guru
 
herns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (232/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,939
Default Re: T5 lighting for 6'x2'x2' *trouble shooting*

Pretty high light fixtures. This fixtures are also used on big groceries store chain. They call it fbay lightings. Suspended above sales area.

Sent from HTC One device using Tapatalk2
herns is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:05 PM   #6
crowndroyal
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: sarnia
Posts: 37
Default

well I did say I bought it from work.
crowndroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:34 PM   #7
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,782
Default

The bulbs will have to be 54 watt T5HO bulbs, that is all that you are likely to find available Since those are standardized you can buy from a very wide selection of color temperatures and manufacturers. But, if all 4 bulbs are used, it will be far too much light if it sits on top of the tank. And, as far as I can see, that is a 4 foot long fixture, not a 6 foot long one. I don't see anything on the Lithonia website about 6 foot long lights with 4 foot long bulbs.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:30 PM   #8
crowndroyal
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: sarnia
Posts: 37
Default

I thought it was 6' as my boss said it was 6' they are 4' as you can clearly see.

I want to know what bulbs are gonna be best for my demasoni and chilumba I will need an aquatenic can I not hook up a dimmer switch inside ? so I can have it ontop my tank etc how do I put each light on timers etc do I need to add 3 more balasts ?

would something like these work http://energy.te.com/index.asp?act=p...49&prr_id=1759

Last edited by crowndroyal; 02-22-2013 at 05:42 PM.. Reason: added new content
crowndroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 03:04 AM   #9
crowndroyal
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: sarnia
Posts: 37
Default

any updates on this ?
can I wire in a dimmer ?
where is the best and cheapest place to buy bulbs ?
what color and spectrums ?
can I control all 4 bulbs seperatly with out additional ballasts ?
will a T8 ballast work if the above answer is no ( as long as it has same voltages etc )

or is there a thread that touches base on this in here ?
crowndroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012