CO2 with Canister?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2013, 02:57 AM   #1
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

CO2 with Canister?


Suggestions how to setup CO2 with canister filter?

Always had sumps in the past, and always used reactor, now that I am setting up a simple tank with only canister, how do I plumb in the CO2?

Diffuser, in the tank, would like to avoid this.

Taam Rio 600 RVT (rejuvenating venturi) Powerhead/Pump, could I use this, or would I need to put direct into the tank?

Anyway direct into the plumbing for the canister?

Thanks
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2013, 03:11 AM   #2
Sugardaddy1979
Sic em
 
Sugardaddy1979's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 639
Default

Go to the DIY section and check out the cerges. There are also inline atomizers you can use that will keep the diffuser out of the tank. I'm trying to decide between the Ista Max Mix and an inline atomizer at the moment my self.
__________________
Sunsun Pimp Club Member #068
Sugardaddy1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 03:31 AM   #3
sarahspins
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 445
Default

I considered a reactor but it seemed more complicated than just adding inline diffusers. I have ordered my diffusers for 3 different tanks and I'm just waiting on them to arrive...
sarahspins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:44 PM   #4
mohican
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 33
Default

Is the CO2 pressurized or DIY?


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
mohican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:59 PM   #5
marcnc
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohican View Post
Is the CO2 pressurized or DIY?


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
Pressurized, 10 lbs bottle
marcnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:30 PM   #6
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcnc View Post
Pressurized, 10 lbs bottle
As mentioned, an inline reactor or an inline diffuser is the way to go if you want to minimize equipment inside the aquarium.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:50 AM   #7
aquaman911
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Default

All I did was zip tie the tubing down the intake shaft of my eheim 2213 and drilled a hole on the side of my intake tube about 3" above strainer. Inserted tube and voila! My "co2" tube is black and really really stiff so I had to use zip ties to secure it.

It makes a swoosh slurpy sound when the co2 get sucked up. Up until yesterday my canister filter provided co2 diffusion without any bubble in the tank. However, yesterday it started to burp and fill my spray bar with little bubbles.

Prob not the best choice if its your only filter on the tank. I have a second fluval 306 and that my main filter. I run a inline heater on my eheim and use it as a diffuser. For me it work great and to be honest I'm not worried about the filter. If it breaks ill fix it.

Maybe go get a cheap canister filter and fill it with bio balls and whatever and use that instead. It's cheaper than a reactor and has a built in pump. It's a great reactor I think. I've read of people using filter to years and no issues.

If anything the co2 will keep your propeller clean lol.
aquaman911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:09 PM   #8
Cthulhu
Planted Member
 
Cthulhu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 176
Default

I built a Cerges to use with my Eheim 2217. I'll probably get it running sometime this week
Cthulhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:08 PM   #9
Jeff5614
Planted Tank Guru
 
Jeff5614's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 2,690
Default

You can install a needle wheel pump inline with the canister on the output side. I would try to have similar flow rates for each or a needle wheel pump with a higher flow rate and just unplug the canister. I've used this method in the past. It's simple and effective with the worst part being the cost of the pump . It's as easier than a reactor with none of the flow loss. Just be sure you don't mind a lot of mist in the tank.
Jeff5614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012